Getting Textbooks to Zero Student Cost: ZTC and OER

Textbooks

• Arguing Using Critical Thinking (Marteney) in LibreTexts (CC BY-NC) Arguing Using Critical Thinking focuses on teaching students argumentation skills with an emphasis on constructive conflict resolution. Through its 12 chapters the textbook explores all types of conflict from interpersonal disagreements to major policy decisions.
• How Arguments Work – A Guide to Writing and Analyzing Texts in College (Mills) in LibreTexts (CC BY-NC) How Arguments Work takes students through the techniques they will need to respond to readings and make sophisticated arguments in any college class. It is a practical guide to argumentation with strategies and templates for the kinds of assignments students will commonly encounter. It covers rhetorical concepts in everyday language and explores how arguments can build trust and move readers. Ancillaries are currently under development.
• The (In)Credible Argument: Crafting and Analyzing Arguments in College (Kepka) (PressBooks) (CC BY 4.0) The (In)Credible Argument covers all of the major topics of argumentation from the basic components of argument to common argument frameworks. It walks students through how to find, evaluate, and use evidence including bias and fallacies.
• Exploring Public Speaking - This book has a text bank that can be accessed by contacting  Dr. Barbara Tucker

   

PHIL 2020 – Principles of Logic and Argumentation (Valdosta State University) (CC BY-SA 4.0) This course was developed as part of an Affordable Learning Georgia Textbook Transformation Grant awarded to two faculty members at Valdosta State University. The course includes units on critical thinking, arguments, fallacies, symbolic logic, syllogisms, research, and law. It also includes an instructor’s guide and lesson planning.

Textbooks

• Stand Up, Speak Out: The Practice and Ethics of Public Speaking (University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing) in Open Textbook Library; Stand up, Speak out – The Practice and Ethics of Public Speaking in LibreTexts  (CC BY-NC-SA) Stand Up, Speak Out focuses on helping students become more seasoned and polished public speakers, and emphasizes ethics in communication. The text covers all of the major aspects of public speaking from research through organization and presentation skills with specific chapters on informative, persuasive, and entertaining speeches. The book has a 4.5/5 star rating from more than 50 reviews.
• Exploring Public Speaking (Barton and Tucker) in Galileo ; Exploring Public Speaking (Barton and Tucker) in LibreTexts (CC BY-NC-SA) Exploring Public Speaking is now on its 4^th edition. The text addresses all the subjects that traditional publishers’ books would address with some additional topics that might be excluded from most texts including learning theory, plagiarism, speaking online, speaking to diverse audiences, and humor in public speaking. The third and fourth editions also include case study examples and outline samples. The text includes a set of test banks which are not available to the public. For access to these resources, please contact Dr. Barbara Tucker.
• The Public Speaking Project in LibreTexts (CC BY-NC-ND) Note: “ND” means no derivatives – editing the text is not permitted. The Public Speaking Project includes everything needed to teach public speaking starting with introductory chapters covering the origins and ethics of the subject. It includes material to help students through research, reasoning, organization, composition, presentation, and evaluation of various types of speeches including informative, persuasive, special occasion, and group speeches. The text includes additional instructor resources including test questions, chapter outlines, and video resources.
• Introduction to Public Communication (CC BY-SA 4.0) Introduction to Public Communication is an open textbook created specifically for Indiana State University’s COMM 101 course. A guiding team of communication instructors compiled content from other open sources and wrote original content to complete the text. In addition to more traditional public speaking content this text also includes chapters on interpersonal, professional, and small group communication as well as global engagement and culture.
• Fundamentals of Public Speaking (Stokes-Rice, Leonard, and Rome) (Stokes-Rice, Leonard, and Rome, College of the Canyons) (CC BY 4.0) Fundamentals of Public Speaking is an OER published by the College of the Canyons for their Comm 105 course. The text begins with the fundamentals, ethics and communication apprehension before walking students through the process of developing, researching, and delivering speeches. In addition to covering informative and persuasive speeches it also includes a chapter on special occasion speeches.
• Using Your Speech Power! Instructional Materials for Communication Teachers and Students (CC BY-SA 4.0) This material was created by Steven Ginley at Morton College. He argues “the purpose of an introduction to public speaking course should be to provide a human communication overview. It should use independent study, textbook readings and exercises, group work, class discussions, library research, oral presentations and lectures to prepare students for successful lives by improving their oral and written communication skills. It should stress personal responsibility, ethics and the ability to understand and follow written and oral directions.” The all-inclusive site includes a textbook, workbook, presentations, practice quizzes and tests, motivational aids, and more.

Courses

• TA121 – Oral Interpretation of Literature OER (Ivey) (CC BY 4.0) This course by Tinamarie Ivey was designed for Linn-Benton Community College students. Course Description: Students will be able to foster an appreciation of literature and develop creative skills in public speaking and performance. Students will analyze various literary forms (poetry, novels, plays, letters, diaries, etc.) as texts for oral presentation. Students will explore oral traditions and other nonliterary sources and events as oral presentation material. Class exercises introduce vocal, physical and other speaking techniques to effectively communicate a point of view.
• Topics in Performance Studies: Comedy Across Media (MIT Open CourseWare) (CC BY-NC-SA) This multidisciplinary lecture/workshop engages students in a variety of approaches to the study and practice of performance as an area of aesthetic and social interaction. Special attention is paid to the use of diverse media in performance. Interdisciplinary approaches to study encourage students to seek out material histories of performance and practice.
• Literary Interpretation: Interpreting Poetry (MIT Open CourseWare) (CC BY-NC-SA) This seminar offers a course of readings in lyric poetry. It aims to enhance the student’s capacity to understand the nature of poetic language and the enjoyment of poetic texts by treating poems as messages to be deciphered. The seminar will briefly touch upon the history of theories of figurative language since Aristotle and it will attend to the development of those theories during the last thirty years, noting the manner in which they tended to consider figures of speech distinct from normative or literal expression, and it will devote particular attention to the rise of theories that quarrel with this distinction. The seminar also aims to communicate a rough sense of the history of English-speaking poetry since the early modern period. Some attention will be paid as well to the use of metaphor in science.
• Theater and Cultural Diversity in the U.S. (MIT Open CourseWare) (CC BY-NC-SA) This course explores contemporary American theatrical expression as it may be organized around issues of gender and cultural identity. This exploration will include the analysis of performances, scripts, and video documentation, as well as the invention of original documents of theatrical expression. Class lectures and discussions will analyze samples of Native American, Chicano, African American, and Asian American theater, taking into consideration the historical and political context for the creation of these works. Performance exercises will help students identify theatrical forms and techniques used by these theaters, and how these techniques contribute to the overall goals of specific theatrical expressions.

Textbooks

• An Introduction to Group Communication (V2.0 Granite State College, PressBooks); An Introduction to Group Communication in LibreTexts (CC BY-NC-SA) An Introduction to Group Communication was designed to accompany the General Education course, COMM542 Interpersonal Communication and Group Dynamics at Granite State College. It includes chapters on theory, group development, membership, verbal and nonverbal communication, listening, conflict and problem solving, group leadership and motivation, and intercultural/international group communication.
• Small-Group Communication (Osborne, College of the Canyons, 2019) (CC BY 4.0) Small Group Communication is an Open Resource published by the College of the Canyons for their Comm 120 course. The text provides a comprehensive look at small group communication. It includes chapters covering group development, team management, verbal and nonverbal communication, listening, leadership and conflict management, and intercultural group communication.
• Small Group Communication: Forming & Sustaining Teams (Linabary, Pressbooks) (CC BY-NC-SA) Small Group Communication is an interdisciplinary textbook focused on communication in groups and teams. The aim of this textbook is to provide students with theories, concepts, and skills they can put into practice to form and sustain successful groups across a variety of contexts.
• Managing Groups and Teams (WikiBooks) (CC BY-SA) Managing Groups and Teams is a wikibook that takes a challenge-based approach, one that focuses on the “how” of managing a group or a team. It covers topics on leadership, team roles and dynamics, cohesion, inclusion and groupthink.
• Problem Solving in Teams and Groups (Piercy) (Licensing Varies) Content in this textbook is adapted from The Open University, OpenStax, The Noba Project, and Wikipedia. Each chapter presents the source in the top header and each chapter has its own version of the Creative Commons (CC) license, noted at the bottom of the chapter.

Courses

• CMST 230 – Small Group Communication (Open Course Library) (CC BY 3.0) This course is designed to familiarize you with the major theory and research surrounding the study of small group communication and provide an opportunity to analyze and develop solutions to a community problem while working in a small group.
• Working in Diverse Teams (OpenLearn) (CC BY-NC-SA) An OpenLearn course exploring diversity within teams and team roles with a focus on the workplace and employer/employee dynamics. Includes a section on virtual teams.

Textbooks

• Interpersonal Communication – A Mindful Approach to Relationships (Wrench, J.S., Punyanunt-Carter, N.M., & K.S. Thweatt) in Open Textbook Library; Interpersonal Communication – A Mindful Approach to Relationships (Wrench et al.) in LibreTexts  (CC BY-NC-SA) Interpersonal Communication helps readers examine their own one-on-one communicative interactions using a mindfulness lens. The authors incorporate the latest communication theory and research to help students navigate everyday interpersonal interactions. The 14 chapters in this book cover topics typically taught in an undergraduate interpersonal communication course: family interactions, interpersonal dynamics, language, listening, nonverbal communication, and romantic relationships, as well as exploring emerging areas such as self-compassion, body positivity, friendships, and “the dark side.” Includes a student handbook and ancillaries
• Interpersonal Communication: A Mindful Approach to Relationships – The Student Workbook (Wrench, Punyanunt-Carter, and Thweatt) (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0)
• Communication to Connect: Interpersonal Communication for Today (Department of Communication Studies, Austin Community College) (CC-BY-NC-SA) Communicating to Connect introduces an undergraduate to a whole new world of concepts with an in-depth exploration of interpersonal communication. Theory and research that reflect what is currently known about interpersonal communication complement practical skills explaining why course concepts are important in everyday life. The narrative voice and culturally diverse examples, as well as relevant pictures, charts, graphs, videos, and multimedia enhance reading comprehension. Ancillary materials are available upon request to support student learning and instructional planning.
• Interpersonal Communication Textbook (Leonard, College of the Canyons, 2019) (CC BY 3.0) This textbook was compiled and graphically designed especially for College of the Canyons students. The following chapters will cover topics such as: dealing with conflict, how to communicate in professional and personal relationships, and self-presentation in communication. There are two types of interactive features in this book to help you, the student, engage with the various concepts and procedures behind interpersonal communications.
• I.C.A.T Interpersonal Communication Abridged Textbook (Patterson) (CC BY-SA 3.0) I.C.A.T. covers significant elements of an introductory interpersonal communication course including perception, identity, verbal and nonverbal communication, listening, emotions, conflict and power, and interpersonal relationships. Canvas pages were created for each chapter of the Interpersonal Communication Abridged Textbook (ICAT) containing accessible content and subsection tabs to make it easier to access targeted information. Download I.C.A.T Interpersonal Communication Abridged Textbook on Canvas Commons

Courses

CMST 210 – Interpersonal Communication (Open Course Library) (CC BY 3.0) This course introduces you to the conceptual issues and practical implications of interpersonal communication. The course is designed to provide a holistic and self-contained, although not comprehensive, introduction to the study and practice of communication within interpersonal encounters. In addition, this course focuses specifically on understanding and improving how we communicate in personal relationships including familial, friendship, work and romantic contexts. The guiding instructional philosophy of the course is that learning entails active engagement with and feedback about the targeted skill.

Textbooks

• Exploring Intercultural Communication (Grothe) in LibreTexts (CC BY) Exploring Intercultural Communication is a comprehensive introductory text, it begins by defining intercultural communication and the roots of culture. It includes chapters on identity, verbal and nonverbal processes, culture shock, barriers and conflict, intercultural relationships and communication competence.
• Intercultural Communication for the Community College (Krumrey-Fulks, 2019, PressBooks); Intercultural Communication for the Community College (Krumrey-Fulks) in LibreTexts (CC BY-NC-SA) In the quest to explore the multiple facets of intercultural communication, this book is divided into three general areas: foundations, elements, and contexts. The foundations cover the basic principles associated with communication studies and culture. The elements move beyond the basics into self, identities, verbal, and nonverbal process associated with communication and culture. Contexts explore all the different environments such as media, business, and education, in which intercultural communication occurs.
• Intercultural Communication Version 2 (Rice, College of the Canyons, 2019) (CC BY 4.0)
• Language and Culture in Context: A Primer on Intercultural Communication (Godwin-Jones); Language and Culture in Context – A Primer on Intercultural Communication (Godwin-Jones) in LibreTexts (CC BY-NC) This textbook was written and designed especially for College of the Canyons Communications students. The following chapters will cover topics such as: understanding cultural identity, social construction, cultural biases, and culture shock. There are two types of interactive features in this book to help you, the student, engage with the various concepts and procedures behind intercultural communication.
• Intercultural Communication (Ahrndt, University of Missouri – St. Louis, 2020) (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0) Intercultural Communication examines culture as a variable in interpersonal and collective communication. It explores the opportunities and problems arising from similarities and differences in communication patterns, processes, and codes among various cultural groups. It explores cultural universals, social categorization, stereotyping and discrimination, with a focus on topics including race, ethnicity, social class, religion, gender and sexuality as they relate to communication.
• Speaking of Culture (Weil – Rebus) (CC BY-NC 3.0) Speaking of Culture was designed to fulfill General Education breadth requirements in social sciences at Utah State University intended to introduce students to the nature, history, and methods of different disciplines; and to help students understand the cultural, historical, and natural contexts shaping the human experience. This book focuses on culture and other concepts associated with it.

Textbooks

• Communication Theory (WikiBooks) (CC BY-SA) Communication Theory is a Wikibook with an overview of communication theory. It includes an introduction and then has chapters covering theories from Uncertainty Reduction to Uses and Gratification to Social Systems and Network Society.
• Communication in the Real World: An Introduction to Communication Studies (University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing) in Open Textbook Library; Communication in the Real World – An Introduction to Communication Studies in LibreTexts (CC BY-NC-SA)
• Introduction to Communication (Green, K. Fairchild, R. Knudsen, B. & D. Lease-Gubrud (Minnesota State Colleges and Universities); Introduction to Communication (Green, et al) in Libretexts (CC BY NC) Communication in the Real World overviews the foundations of the field while incorporating the latest research and cutting-edge applications of these basics. Each chapter includes timely, concrete, and real-life examples of communication concepts in action. A key feature of this book is the integration of content regarding diversity and organizational communication in each chapter through examples and/or discrete sub-sections. Also integrated into the content are examples that are inclusive in terms of race, gender, sexuality, ability, age, marital status, religion, and other diverse identity characteristics. The book has a 4.5/5 star rating from more than 35 reviews.
• Introduction to Communication (Paynton and Hahn) in LibreTexts (CC BY-SA) This textbook is targeted for Introduction to Human Communication courses that introduce students to the study of Communication. The underlying organization addressed the importance of students to be able to answer the question, “What is Communication Study?” in a way that captures the field of Communication appropriately, as well as an important discipline across colleges and universities.
• The Evolution of Human Communication: From Theory to Practice (Pierce, Pressbooks) (CC0) The Evolution of Human Communication is a more specialized text with a focus on theory. The book begins with an introduction to the field and then provides one chapter on each of the following topics: interpersonal, relationships, gender, media, intercultural, and rhetoric.

Textbooks

• Communication in the Real World: An Introduction to Communication Studies; Communication in the Real World – An Introduction to Communication Studies in LibreTexts (CC BY-NC-SA) Communication in the Real World overviews the foundations of the field while incorporating the latest research and cutting-edge applications of these basics. Each chapter includes timely, concrete, and real-life examples of communication concepts in action. A key feature of this book is the integration of content regarding diversity and organizational communication in each chapter through examples and/or discrete sub-sections. Also integrated into the content are examples that are inclusive in terms of race, gender, sexuality, ability, age, marital status, religion, and other diverse identity characteristics. The book has a 4.5/5 star rating from more than 35 reviews.
• A Primer on Communication Studies (LardBucket)  (CC BY-NC-SA 3.0) A Primer on Communication Studies is a comprehensive textbook that covers all of the basics of communication including perception, verbal and nonverbal communication, listening, and culture. It also has chapters on public speaking including preparing and delivering speeches. Finally, it covers various types of communication including small group, interpersonal, and cultural communication.
• Introduction to Communication (Green, Knudsen, Lease-Gubrud) ; Introduction to Communication (Green, et al) in LibreTexts Introduction to Communication is an introductory communication studies text comprised of several individual modules covering perception, diversity, language, listening, interpersonal, small group, and public speaking. The modules can be used as a whole or broken up into smaller portions covering individual topics.
• Introduction to Communication (Paynton and Hahn) in LibreTexts (CC BY-SA) This textbook is targeted for Introduction to Human Communication courses that introduce students to the study of Communication. The underlying organization addresses the importance of students to be able to answer the question, “What is Communication Study?” in a way that captures the field of Communication appropriately, as well as an important discipline across colleges and universities.
• The Evolution of Human Communication: From Theory to Practice (Pierce) (CC0) The Evolution of Human Communication is a more specialized text with a focus on theory. The book begins with an introduction to the field and then provides one chapter on each of the following topics: interpersonal, relationships, gender, media, intercultural, and rhetoric.
• Process of Communication (Rice, 2020)  (CC BY 4.0) Process of Communication is an OER published by the College of the Canyons for their Comm 100 course. The text provides a comprehensive look at the field including foundations and history. It has chapters covering the major components of communication including perception, verbal, nonverbal, listening, etc. before turning to the distinct types of communication.
• Message Processing: The Science of Creating Understanding (Gasiorek, 2018) (CC BY 4.0) According to the author Message Processing “provides an upper-level undergraduate introduction and explanation of the social and cognitive processes involved in human communication, focusing on how people create understanding.”