Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Merced College Library
Merced College Libraries
How do I?...Students
Search this Guide
Merced College Libraries: How do I?...Students
How do I?...Students
How do I?...Faculty
Events & Exhibits
How do I...find help
Check your Student Email
Do you know how to check your email or forward it to your personal email? Find out here!
Getting Research Help
What are the library hours and how can I get help from a librarian?
Meet with a Librarian
So you know we have librarians, right? Do you know who we are? Find out here!
Overview of Library Research
Start here to learn about basic library research. Ask a librarian if you need more help.
Request materials from other libraries
Do you need the full-text of an article you found? Did you find a book that you need to use? Let us find it for you. Find out how!
Wireless Printing and Copying
Do you know how to print or make copies at the library? Check this out!
How do I...Books, E-books and Textbooks
How to find and use e-books
How to find e-books both in the Merced College Library and on google.
Find books, e-books and textbooks
Do you want to find books in the library? Use this guide.
How do I...the Web
Here are the basics of how to evaluate websites.
Fake News? Evaluate It!
Do you know how to recognize fake news? Use this guide to find out.
Google and Google Scholar
Do you always start with Google? Here are some tips to make your searches better.
How do I...News and Careers
So You Want to find Local News?
Find local (Central Valley) news in English, Spanish and Russian.
Do you need to research careers? Are you looking for a job? Check out this guide for places to look and salary/outlook questions about different careers.
How do I...Citations
Here are all the resources you need to write an MLA 8 citation - except the librarian. Let us know if you need help.
Here are all the resources you need to write an an APA 7 citation - except the librarian. Let us know if you need help.
Here are all the resources you need to write an Chicago or Turabian citation - except the librarian. Let us know if you need help.
Write an Annotated Bibliography
What is an annotated bibliography anyway? And how do I write one? Find out here!
How do I...Research Questions and Brainstorming
Now you have your topic..or do you? Here are tools to help you brainstorm your topic.
Are you getting the same results from your searches every single time? Try some new keywords. Here are some ideas.
Writing your Research Question
Writing your research question IS research. Here are some tips for writing a successful one.
What is Bias?
Do you know that it isn't just news sources that have bias? We do to. Find out how to avoid bias in your research.
Research Process - Getting Started
Do you know how to start the research process? Start here for an explanation of what research is and how to start.
How do I...Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed and Primary Sources
How to read a Scholarly Article
Now you've found that scholarly/peer-reviewed article your instructor wanted. Do you know how to read it? Start here to find out!
Scholarly vs Popular Periodicals
Scholarly? Popular? Trade? Do you know the difference? Find out here!
What is a Scholarly Article
You have to find a scholarly article for your research but do you know what it is? Other than one written by an expert AND how can you tell? Start here!
What is a Primary Source?
Primary sources are those that are experienced first-hand, like photographs, newspaper articles, journals, original documents. Find out how to find them here!
How Do I...Databases
Do you need current events? Do you need timelines and/or differing opinions? Start here!
How to use EBSCO
Do you want news that may not be in all the mainstream newspapers? This is a good place to start!
Films on Demand
Do you want to see old newsreels, educational films or feature films? Start here!
Do you know how to find differing viewpoints? Do you need to find topics? Start here.
Do you need a really good science encyclopedia? Look no further!
Search New York Times
Do you want to keep up with the news? Find out how here!
Do you want to learn how to use the best Art database out there? Look here!
What is a Database?
What exactly is a database? Come find out!
How do I?...Faculty >>
Oct 20, 2020 5:14 PM
Login to LibApps
Agriculture & Plant Science
Art, Music & Drama
Business & Economics
Child Development & Education
Communications & Language
English, Philosophy & Humanities
History & Anthropology
Nutrition & Health
Psychology, Political & Social Sciences
Science, Engineering & Math
Technical & Vocational