Here are some common primary sources. For more resources please see our Research Guides for HIST.
- American Memory – Photos and Prints
- American Social Hygiene Posters, 1910-1970
Part of the University of Minnesota's Social Welfare History Archives, this site lets you search posters by subject, keyword, and date.
- Authentic History Center: Primary Sources from American Popular Culture
A rich resource for digitized images, documents, videos, sound recordings and more. Currently covers American History topics from the American Revolution to 9/11/2001.
- The Association for Cultural Equity (ACE) Archvies
Contains the Alan Lomax Archive, a collection of recorded music, dance, and the spoken word. Alan Lomax was an anthropologist of the performing arts.
- California Heritage Collection
This University of California-Berkeley Bancroft Library site provides access to over 30,000 images illustrating California's history and culture
- Calisphere Digital Archive
Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 150,000 digitized items, including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts, reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history
Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art
The ICAA Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art digital archive provides access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States.
- Early Landscape Photography of the American West
Early Landscape Photography of the American West This New York Public Library site provides access to over 200 prints from the 1860s and 1870s of American Western landscape, plus some tex
- German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941
This collection comprises 170 German-language titles of books and pamphlets. The collection presents anti-Semitism as an issue in politics, economics, religion, and education. Most of the writings date from the 1920s and 1930s and many are directly connected with Nazi groups. The works are principally anti-Semitic, but include writings on other groups as well, including Jehovah’s Witnesses, the Jesuits, and the Freemasons. Also included are history, pseudo-history, and fiction.
- History of the American West, 1860-1920
(from the Library of Congress) Over 30,000 photographs, drawn from the holdings of the Western History and Genealogy Department at Denver Public Library.
- Image Archive of the American Eugenics Movement
Presents primary source material from the Eugenics Record Office at Cold Spring Harbor, "the center of American eugenics research from 1910-1940."
- Library Company of Philadelphia Print & Photograph Collections
Specializing in works by Philadelphia photographers and printmakers, and images that document the city of Philadelphia, the collection visually records the history of the Philadelphia area from the late 17th to the mid 20th century. In addition to Philadelphia area materials, the graphics collections include historical and commemorative prints, portraits, and political cartoons documenting American history at the national level from the 18th through the early 20th century.
- Life Photo Archive
Google provides access to Life magazine's millions of photographs, from the 1750s on, most of which were never published.
- North Carolina Civil War Image Portfolio
This collection provided by the University of North Carolina presents images from woodcuts, engravings, lithographs, and photographs--most of these were made by people accompanying Union forces, or were made from sketches and other information they provided
- NYPL Digital Collections
Provides access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives Digital Library Collection