Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EBSCO Explained: EBSCO Explained

Tips and Tools for searching EBSCO

EBSCO Explained

EBSCOhost, known simply as EBSCO, is a database that contains a collection of databases that you can use for your research.  Inside EBSCO, you can choose one or more databases that give you access to a collection of resources that are designed to help you research only those resources in your topic area.

Merced College currently has access to 36 different EBSCO databases with thousands of full-text journal, magazine and newspaper articles.  It even has books!

From EBSCO''s site:

Available campus-wide or remotely (with user ID and password), Academic Search Complete contains an impressive collection of psychology publications. If you or your students are not making use of this resource you are really missing out. Highlights include:

  • 13,600 abstracted and indexed journals
  • Nearly 9,100 full text journals
  • Full text for more than 7,900 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content back to 1887
  • Searchable cited references for nearly 1,460 journals

Tips

EBSCO

Choose more than one database inside EBSCO

Choose database list from either the basic search bar or the advanced search bar

search bars with choose database link highlighted

Click on the databases you want to use.

EBSCO database names

Other tips

Boolean AND, OR, NOT