Government Information: Executive Branch Resources

Find contact information for U.S. federal government departments and agencies including websites, emails, phone numbers, addresses, and more.

The American Presidency Project archives over 160,055 documents. Hosted by the University of California, Santa Barbara, the American Presidency Project is non-profit and non-partisan. Documents available include: The Messages and Papers of the Presidents (1789-1929); The Public Papers of the Presidents (1929-present); The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (1977-2009); and The Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents (post-2009).

The official files that make up a Presidential administration's website are preserved in the National Archives' Executive Office of the President Electronic Records Archive. The National Archives has preserved the White House websites and made them available online. Since these are archived webpages, they are no longer updated.

Learn about the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the U.S. government on USA.gov

Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Other related and supporting budget publications are included, which may vary from year to year. Years 1996 to present are available online.

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis.

The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (eCFR) is the regularly updated online version of the Code of Federal Regulations. It provides a way of exploring the Code of Federal Regulations as it exists today and at points in time back to January 2017. Users can browse the Code of Federal Regulations as it existed at any point in time; compare the regulations as they existed on any two dates; view a timeline of how the CFR content has changed; search for specific terms; and subscribe to changes in the regulations.

The List of CFR Sections Affected lists proposed, new, and amended Federal regulations that have been published in the Federal Register since the most recent revision date of a CFR title.

The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. The Compilation of Presidential Documents is published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).

The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. The Economic Report of the President is transmitted to Congress no later than ten days after the submission of the Budget of the United States Government. Supplementary reports can be issued to the Congress which contain additional and/or revised recommendations. Years 1996-present are available online.

Orders signed by Presidents Roosevelt through Obama (1937-2017); full text of orders from Presidents Clinton-Obama. Executive orders and disposition tables are available only through the Federal Register for January 20, 2017 to the present.

Created by the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C. this site identifies sources for Presidential directives, proclamations, signing statements, executive orders, memoranda, and other documents.

Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily journal of the United States. It is the publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Also available on https://www.federalregister.gov/.

Maintained by the Library of Congress, this page contains links to only Executive Branch websites.

Maintained by the United States Department of Justice this is a list of clemency recipients from presidents Nixon to Biden.

Presidential Libraries and Museums present vast archives of documents, museums full of important Presidential artifacts, interesting educational and public programs, and informative web sites.

This visualization offers a path into the digitized holdings of the National Archives and Records Administration's Presidential Libraries, including texts, photos, and video/audio.

The Public Papers of the Presidents, which is compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), began in 1957 in response to a recommendation of the National Historical Publications Commission. Public papers include: addresses & remarks, appointments & nominations, bill signings & vetoes, communications to Congress & federal agencies, executive orders, media interviews, joint statements, letters & messages, meetings with foreign leaders and international officials, proclamations, resignations & retirements, and statements by the President.

Users can access proposed rules and regulations issued by federal agencies through this site. Users can find, read, and comment on regulatory issues.

The American Presidency Project has compiled the Annual Messages to Congress on the State of the Union from George Washington in 1790 to the present. Years 1994 to present are also available on GovInfo.

As the official handbook of the Federal Government, The United States Government Manual provides information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution. The Manual is published as a special edition of the Federal Register (see 1 CFR 9.1). Its focus is on programs and activities. Persons interested in detailed organizational structure, the regulatory documents of an agency, or Presidential documents should refer to the Federal Register or one of its other special editions.

Published by the Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs and House Committee on Government Reform alternately after each Presidential election, the Plum Book lists over 7,000 Federal civil service leadership and support positions in the legislative and executive branches of the Federal Government that may be subject to noncompetitive appointment, nationwide. Data covers positions such as agency heads and their immediate subordinates, policy executives and advisors, and aides who report to these officials. The duties of many such positions may involve advocacy of Administration policies and programs and the incumbents usually have a close and confidential working relationship with the agency or other key officials. The Plum Book is used to identify presidentially appointed positions within the Federal Government.

USA.gov is an online guide to U.S. government information and services. This website links to the Executive Office of the President, executive departments, independent agencies, boards, commissions, and quasi-official agencies.

The official website of the White House.