Government Information: Federal Government Resources

Find contact information for U.S. federal government departments and agencies including websites, emails, phone numbers, addresses, and more.

Finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available.

Learn about America's communities through the Census Bureau's data profiles. They cover 100,000+ different geographies: states, counties, places, tribal areas, zip codes, and congressional districts.

A collection of the Government Publishing Office which features cornerstone documents of the U.S. such as the Declaration of Independence.

Hosted by the U.S. General Services Administration, Technology Transformation Service. Find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.

The Environmental Data and Governance Initiative (EDGI) documents, contextualizes, and analyzes current changes to environmental data and governance practices through multidisciplinary and cross-professional collaborative work. EDGI works to preserve data and web pages from EPA, DOE, NOAA, OSHA, NASA, USDA, DOI, and USGS. Monitors federal websites for changes made to environmental content.

The Federal Depository Library Program provides webinars about finding government information, access to LibGuides pertaining to government information sources, and links to online government information resources.

Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily journal of the United States. It is the publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Also available on https://www.federalregister.gov/.

The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) Basic Collection contains vital sources of information about the workings and essential activities of the U.S. Government such as the Budget of the United States Government, the Federal Register, Economic Indicators, the United States Government Manual, and more!

You can also search for government documents on Google by adding site:.gov (site colon dot gov) to your search terms. For example, search for “renewable energy policy site:.gov” in the Google search bar. What this does is it searches for this term under the .gov domain and many federal agencies use this domain. However, some state and local agencies do so as well. Also some federal agencies do not use the .gov domain. You can also limit searches to a specific department or agency website, such as site:energy.gov (site colon energy dot gov) to find only results from the Department of Energy.

This collaborative project of the Internet Archive is an extension of the 2016 End of Term project, intended to document the federal government's web presence by archiving government websites and data. As part of this preservation effort, URLs supplied from partner institutions, as well as nominated by the public, will be crawled regularly to provide an on-going view of federal agencies' web and social media presence.

A United States Government Publishing Office (GPO) service providing free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

MetaLib, a service of the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.

Grants.gov is the official government website for finding and applying for grants from federal government agencies.

The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world. Search the catalog, browse digital collections, access teacher guides, and much more.

The National Archives preserves United States government documents, records, and publications. It also oversees the Presidential Libraries system. Users can search the National Archives records for historical and current government documents as well as research veterans' service records.

The American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) Advancing Access to Justice Special Committee (2021-2022) compiled information for law librarians, legal information professionals, and members of the public to easily locate free online primary legal materials. This site covers legal materials for U.S. states, the District of Columbia, U.S. territories, U.S. Federal Government, and Canada.

The System for Award Management (SAM.gov) is an official website of the U.S. Government. Users can search for assistance listings, wage determinations, and contract data reports.

The HathiTrust US Federal Government Documents Registry is a database of metadata intended to represent the comprehensive corpus of U.S. federal documents produced from 1789 to the present. It is not yet a definitive set.

As the official handbook of the Federal Government, The United States Government Manual provides information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution. The Manual is published as a special edition of the Federal Register (see 1 CFR 9.1). Its focus is on programs and activities. Persons interested in detailed organizational structure, the regulatory documents of an agency, or Presidential documents should refer to the Federal Register or one of its other special editions.

USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services.

View the 2020 Census results as well as the data quality of the 2020 Census.

The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world. Search the catalog, browse digital collections, access teacher guides, and much more.