Government Information: California Executive Branch Resources

The California Business, Consumer Services and Housing Agency is responsible for licensing and regulating professionals, businesses, and financial services; funding and facilitating the preservation and expansion of safe, affordable housing; advancing statewide collaborative efforts to prevent and end homelessness; and guarding and enforcing California’s civil rights laws. Visit the official website to learn more about this agency's policies and programs.

View the Governor's proposed budget, the revised budget, and the enacted budget. Users can view the budget from the 2007/2008 fiscal year to the current fiscal year.

The California Code of Regulations (CCR), is the official compilation and publication of the regulations adopted, amended or repealed by state agencies pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act (APA). Properly adopted regulations that have been filed with the Secretary of State have the force of law. The CCR is compiled into Titles and organized into Divisions containing the regulations of state agencies.

The California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (CDCR) is responsible for the operation of the California state prison and parole systems. Visit this official website for reports, statistics, assistance with locating an inmate, and more.

The official website of the California Department of Education. This website includes information about the department, education funding, specialized education programs, and data and statistics.

The California Department of Finance is cabinet-level agency responsible for preparing, explaining, and administering the state's annual financial plan. Learn more about California's budget and read demographic and fiscal reports through visiting this official website.

The California Department of Food and Agriculture (CDFA) is responsible for ensuring the state's food safety, the protection of the state's agriculture from invasive species and natural disasters, and promoting the California agricultural industry. Visit the official website to learn more about the policies and programs of the CDFA.

This is the official website of the California Department of Insurance which is the consumer protection agency for the nation's largest insurance marketplace. On this website you can file a complaint, find guides to different types of insurance, and compare insurance premiums.

The California Department of Justice is the investigative law enforcement agency and legal department of the California executive branch. It is under the elected leadership of the California Attorney General. Learn about the office and its current work on the official website.

The California Department of Veterans Affairs (CalVet) strives to ensure military veterans of every era and their families get the state and federal benefits and services they have earned. Visit this website to learn about benefits, programs, and services available to veterans.

The California Environmental Protection Agency (CalEPA) works to restore, protect and enhance the environment, to ensure public health, environmental quality and economic vitality. Visit this website to learn more about this agency's policies and programs.

The California Government Operation Agency (CalGovOps) administers state operations such as real estate, information technology, and human resources.

Governors' Gallery contains a portrait, a biography, and inaugural addresses for each California governor.

The Governor’s Office of Business and Economic Development (GO-Biz) serves as the State of California’s leader for job growth, economic development and business assistance efforts.

The Governor's Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES) serves as the state’s leadership hub during all major emergencies and disasters. This includes responding, directing, and coordinating state and federal resources and mutual aid assets across all regions to support the diverse communities across the state.

The Governor’s Office of Planning and Research (OPR) serves as the State of California's comprehensive planning agency. OPR studies future research and planning needs, fosters collaboration, and delivers guidance to state partners and local communities, with a focus on land use and community development, climate risk and resilience, and economic development.

The California Health and Human Services Agency (CalHHS) oversees departments and state agencies that work to support vulnerable populations in California. Visit this official website to learn this agency's policies and programs.

The California Labor & Workforce Development Agency (LWDA) is responsible for ensuring safe and fair workplaces and delivering critical worker benefits. Visit the official website to learn more about this agency's policies and programs.

The California Military Department (Cal Guard) includes the California National Guard, California State Guard, and the youth and community programs.

The National Governor's Association is a political organization compromised of the governors of the 55 states, territories, and commonwealths. Users can find information on each governor as well as read NGA publications.

The California Natural Resources Agency works to restore, protect and manage the state's natural, historical and cultural resources. Visit the official website to learn about the policies and programs of the Natural Resources Agency.

The official page of the California Lt. Governor. This website includes current press releases and biographical information about the Governor and the First Partner.

The official page of the California Governor. This website includes current press releases and biographical information about the Governor and the First Partner.

The official website of the California Secretary of State. This website contains information about elections, business, political campaigning, and legislative advocacy.

An A-Z list of all State of California departments and agencies.

The California State Board of Equalization is responsible for fee collection and tax administration. Visit the official website for property tax information, alcohol tax information, insurance tax information, legal resources, tax forms, and publications.

The State Controller is responsible for accountability and disbursement of the state’s financial resources. Visit the official California State Controller website for access to public records, search for unclaimed property, and find information about the State Controller's Office.

The California State Treasurer is the state's lead asset manager, banker and financier. Learn about the programs of the office, read publications, and more by visiting the official website.

The California State Transportation Agency (CalSTA) is a cabinet-level agency focused transportation throughout the state. Visit this official website for information on transportation policies and programs.