Government Information: Constitution Resources for Teachers and Children

Constitutionfacts.com and the GIC (Government Information for Children - ALA GODORT) are national sponsors of the Fourteenth Annual U.S. Constitution Day Poster Contest for students, an international contest promoted exclusively through the Internet. To compete, the contest invites K-12 entrants (including homeschoolers) to celebrate Constitution Day (Sept. 17) by designing a poster showing how they benefited from the freedoms embodied in the U.S. Constitution.

Constitutionfacts.com provides a variety of fun games for children of all ages.

Watch videos from the National Archives about the U.S. Constitution. There are also scheduled webinars and links to teacher resources.

Lesson plans on a variety of topics and periods in United States history that utilize primary source materials.

Information from the U.S. Department of Education about Constitution Day with links to lesson plans and other resources.

Created for Statistics in Schools by the U.S. Census Bureau users can view fun statistical information about the United States. This also includes a lesson plan for teachers.

Constitutionfacts.com and the GIC (Government Information for Children - ALA GODORT) are national sponsors of the Fourteenth Annual U.S. Constitution Day Poster Contest for students, an international contest promoted exclusively through the Internet. To compete, the contest invites K-12 entrants (including homeschoolers) to celebrate Constitution Day (Sept. 17) by designing a poster showing how they benefited from the freedoms embodied in the U.S. Constitution.

DocsTeach provides a variety of lesson plans that were created by educators using documents from the National Archives.

The Constitution workshop is available as an online or on-paper activity. In both versions, students will analyze primary source documents, then establish each document's constitutional relevance.

The Government Information for Children Committee of the American Library Association's Government Documents Round Table has produced a guide to U.S. Government Information for children and teachers covering a variety of topics.

The nonpartisan organization, iCivics, provides a variety of activites and lesson plans about the Constitution.

The Library of Congress website provides a variety of lesson plans about the Constitution for grades 6-12.

In this lesson plan provided by the Library of Congress students use primary sources to examine the forces that shaped the Declaration of Independence, Articles of Confederation and the Constitution.

This lesson plan provided by the Library of Congress focuses on the drafting of the United States Constitution during the Federal Convention of 1787 in Philadelphia.

This unit includes four lessons using primary sources to examine continuity and change in the governing of the United States.

The National Constitution Center provides a variety of classroom resources and activities about the Constitution.

Includes a set of primary source documents with suggestions for how teachers can implement these resources into their curriculum.

EDSITEment, NEH's website that helps teachers bring online resources into the classroom, provides a number of lesson plans and reviewed websites that help you commemorate Constitution Day with your students.

Teachers can use this guide to find videos, lesson plans and games that connect to the articles and amendments in the Constitution.

The National Archives provides activities and lesson plans for celebrating Constitution Day.

Lesson plans and activities for celebrating Constitution Day and Citizenship day provided by the official United States Courts website.

The United States Senate has compiled a list of children's materials about campaigns and elections, Congress, the Constitution, the U.S. flag, how the federal government works, the judiciary, the presidency, and general U.S. history.