LibGuides: LRNR 30: Information Concepts and Research Skills: Exploring a Topic

Why Explore a Topic?

What is an exploratory search?

Your instructor has assigned you a topical research paper on technology and business, and you need to write a thesis statement. You have no idea where to begin.

Exploratory research allows you to plan
Topical databases provide background information, chronology and related topics and subject terms. Are best for current information.
Provide pro/con resources to analyze various perspectives
Sources can include newspapers, reports, topica overviews written by field experts, news (websites, newswires, newspapers, etc.), government reports and websites, court documents, books, organizations or associations, magazine (also known as periodicals), trade publications, conference proceedings, and more

Exploratory Library Databases

SIRS Researcher (PROQUEST)
Pro vs. Con on leading issuesprovides magazine, newspaper and government documents organized by topic.
CQ Researcher (SAGE)
Each weekly report (published 44 times per year) offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of a single topic. The 12,000 word reports provide up-to-date information on a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. 10 year back file.
Opposing Viewpoints (GALE)
Pro/Con Viewpoint essays on hot social issues including 5 million periodical articles, primary source documents and statistical tables, charts and graphs.

Wikipedia Homepage
Wikipedia homepage, search box.

Using the 5Ws to Develop a Research Question

New Literacies Alliance (2:57)

Takes a topic and uses the 5Ws to create a focused research question. Ask students to consider if the question works for the assignment at hand. Also illustrates how research questions can be narrowed or expanded with the 5Ws. The narrator mentions the challenges of questions that are too broad or too narrow.

Reference & Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias provide background information and gather facts. These are excellent starting points and clarifying important concepts.

Salem Press (Grey House)
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.
Gale Ebooks (GALE)
Specialized academic and encyclopedic material: find academic articles and definitions. Excellent beginning resource. Find the Career Information Center here!
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature (Oxford Univ Press)
Covers American literary history from the 1600s to the present day. TheEncyclopediaincludes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes.

Scan Sources for Ideas

news
magazines
specialized encyclopedias
SIRS, Opposing Viewpoints, CQ Researcher, Issues & Controversies
websites

Brookings - Our Research
The Brookings Institute is a public policy organization in Washington, DC. with over 300 contributors. Different viewpoints are represented for the following topics: foreign policy, economics, development, governance, and metropolitan policy. Policy recommendations may be included.
TED Talks - by Topic
TED (Technology, Entertainment, and Design) is a nonprofit committed to spreading ideas on a variety of topics. TED Talks are usually 18 minutes or less.
Intelligence2 U.S. (IQ2US)
A forum for balanced and intelligent debate. See overall debate topics and associated debates.
ProCon.org