LibGuides: LRNR 30: Information Concepts and Research Skills: Reference Sources

Specialized Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Media Violence by Matthew S. Eastin (Editor)
Call Number: PRINT Reference collection 303.603 ENC
ISBN: 9781483340111
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
This work provides balanced, comprehensive coverage of this hot-button issue. Features134 signed entries are available both in print and electronically. Entries conclude with Cross-References and Suggestions for Further Readings to guide users to related entries and resources for further research. Although organized in A-to-Z fashion, a thematic Reader#65533;s Guide in the front matter groups related entries by topic to make it easier for users to locate related entries of interest .In the electronic version, the Reader's Guide combines with the Cross-References and a detailed Index to facilitate search-and-browse
Encyclopedia of Computer Science by Robert T. Abrams (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781613246351
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
This book presents current research in the field of computer science. Topics discussed include developing soft computing approaches for flood level forecasting; soft computing in astronomy; fuzzy linear goal programming applied to solve assets and liability management problems in banks; computer-assisted teaching on science education; inquiry web-based learning to enhance knowledge construction; new forms of and tools for co-operative learning with social software in higher education; e-technology use and abuse in university classrooms; a strategy for analysing digital epistemic games and exploring the educational possibilities of computer games.
Encyclopedia of Information Ethics and Security by Marian Quigley
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781591409878
Publication Date: 2007-05-31
A comprehensive reference source on ethical and security issues relating to the latest technologies, this book covers a range of themes, including topics such as computer crime, information warfare, privacy, surveillance, intellectual property and education. It is a useful tool for students, academics, and professionals.
Encyclopedia of Deception by Timothy R. Levine
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781483306896
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The Encyclopedia of Deception examines lying from multiple perspectives drawn from the disciplines of social psychology, sociology, history, business, political science, cultural anthropology, moral philosophy, theology, law, family studies, evolutionary biology, philosophy, and more. From the "little white lie," to lying on a resume, to the grandiose lies of presidents.
Bioethics, 4th Edition. by Bruce Jennings
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780028662121
Publication Date: 2014
Offers hundreds of revisions or addenda to entries from previous editions as well as new or revised entries on topics such as key cases in bioethics, the human biome, genetically modified foods, emergency preparedness and response, social justice, sustainability, chemical warfare and torture, among many others.

Reference Databases: Cultural Studies

African American Experience (ABC-CLIO)
An online database collection on African American history and culture Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists
American Indian Experience (ABC CLIO)
The American Indian Experience is an invaluable digital resource that provides in-depth historical accounts and cultural information about the indigenous peoples of North America.
Salem Press (Grey House)
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas (Oxford Univ Press)
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United Statesdraws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.
Country Watch (CW) This link opens in a new window
Provides critical country-specific intelligence and data through its suite of products to over 4000 clients including public and private sector organizations with overseas operations and global interests.

Online Reference Sources: Current Events

The Conversation
The Conversation is a nonprofit, independent news organization dedicated to unlocking the knowledge of experts for the public good. We publish trustworthy and informative articles written by academic experts for the general public and edited by our team of journalists.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.

Library Reference Databases Current Topics

CQ Researcher (SAGE)
Each weekly report (published 44 times per year) offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of a single topic. The 12,000 word reports provide up-to-date information on a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. 10 year back file.
Salem Press (Grey House)
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.
Access Science (McGraw Hill)
Over 8,500 online articles from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology 10thedition. 110,000+ definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms.Biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography .The latest news in science and technology from Science News and ScienCentral videos. Continuously updated, fully-searchable, media-rich content, terms, images and videos
Encyclopedia Britannica (Britannica)
Regarded as the most scholarly of encyclopedias, the Encyclopedia Britannica provides access to hundreds or scholarly articles in multiple categories and subjects.

Reference: English, Philosophy and Humanities

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature (Oxford Univ Press)
Covers American literary history from the 1600s to the present day. TheEncyclopediaincludes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes.
Gale Ebooks (GALE)
Specialized academic and encyclopedic material: find academic articles and definitions. Excellent beginning resource. Find the Career Information Center here!
Salem Press (Grey House)
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.

Health & Medicine Reference Material

Salem Press (Grey House)
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO)
Consumer health information on many health topics including medical science, food sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.
Access Science (McGraw Hill)
Over 8,500 online articles from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology 10thedition. 110,000+ definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms.Biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography .The latest news in science and technology from Science News and ScienCentral videos. Continuously updated, fully-searchable, media-rich content, terms, images and videos

LRNR 30: Information Concepts and Research Skills: Reference Sources

What are Reference Sources

Why Reference Sources?

Encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs and background information

Encyclopedias are anthologies of information written by experts, summarized compendium of information.

Identify key concepts within a field of study or discipline

Test your assumptions on a topic

Specialized Encyclopedias

Reference Databases: Cultural Studies

Online Reference Sources: Current Events

Library Reference Databases Current Topics

Reference: English, Philosophy and Humanities

Health & Medicine Reference Material