NUTR-25 Nutrition and Hospitality

Best Practices for Library Databases

Tips for Success: Choose your database!

Not sure which database is the right one for your search? OneSearch is the library's one-stop searching platform because it cross-searches all 70 of the library's databases. Start with OneSearch and refine your search by selecting the database from the A-Z Database listing. 

• A-Z Databases DO NOT enter search terms into the "Database Title/Keyword" query box: you will see, "0 Databases Found". This is students' most common mistake!
• Choose the database by scrolling through the alphabetical listing
• A-Z Databases, limit your search:
  • Subject: select your discipline, Nutrition
  • Types: select format type, i.e., Ebooks
• Click the title to select, access with your username and password.
• Clear Filters to remove any search terms or history.

Searching OneSearch or Databases

Watch the following videos to learn more.

• Best results use single keywords or concepts
• Refine results by selecting date, resource type, language and more.
• Signing in is OPTIONAL in OneSearch: you only need to sign in to create an account, put items on hold, renew materials, and more.

"OneSearch in One Minute" (1:00) by Karrie Bullock is licensed under CC BY 3.0.

The library currently subscribes to 72 databases from a variety of vendors, and these are available in the Explore Databases link on the library website. Some databases are specific to particular subjects, while some are specific to particular types of resources, which is why the library provides a variety of databases.

Watch the Video

Learn how to find the library databases and use limiters to select databases by subject area, type of content, and brand in the following video.

"Finding Merced College Library Databases" (4:51) by Lindsay Davis is licensed under CC BY 3.0