OneSearch online library catalog.
Suggested Keywords:
Catalog for locating books and Merced College library holdings: all genres including childrens, young adult, fiction, non-fiction, reference and more. Also links to Open Access and library research databases, portal login required.
Farm to Table
by
With information on purchasing, marketing, and employing farm-to-table principles in restaurants, schools, hospitals, and other institutions Nearly a century ago, the idea of "local food" would have seemed perplexing, since virtually all food was local. Food for daily consumption--fruits, vegetables, grains, meat, and dairy products--was grown at home or sourced from local farms. Today, most of the food consumed in the United States and, increasingly, around the globe, is sourced from industrial farms and concentrated animal feeding operations (CAFOs), which power a food system rife with environmental, economic, and health-related problems. The tide, however, is slowly but steadily turning back in what has been broadly termed the "farm-to-table" movement. In Farm to Table, Darryl Benjamin and Chef Lyndon Virkler explore how the farm-to-table philosophy is pushing back modern, industrialized food production and moving beyond isolated "locavore" movements into a broad and far-reaching coalition of farmers, chefs, consumers, policy advocates, teachers, institutional buyers, and many more all working to restore healthful, sustainable, and affordable food for everyone. Divided into two distinct but complementary halves, "Farm" and "Table," Farm to Table first examines the roots of our contemporary industrial food system, from the technological advances that presaged the "Green Revolution" to U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Earl Butz's infamous dictum to farmers to "Get big or get out" in the 1970s. Readers will explore the many threats to ecology and human health that our corporatized food system poses, but also the many alternatives--from permaculture to rotation-intensive grazing--that small farmers are now adopting to meet growing consumer demand. The second half of the book is dedicated to illuminating best practices and strategies for schools, restaurants, healthcare facilities, and other business and institutions to partner with local farmers and food producers, from purchasing to marketing. No longer restricted to the elite segments of society, the farm-to-table movement now reaches a wide spectrum of Americans from all economic strata and in a number of settings, from hospital and office cafeterias, to elementary schools and fast-casual restaurants. Farm to Table is a one-of-a-kind resource on how to integrate sustainable principles into each of these settings and facilitate intelligent, healthful food choices at every juncture as our food system evolves. While borrowing from the best ideas of the past, the lessons herein are designed to help contribute to a healthier, more sustainable, and more equitable tomorrow.
Health Reference Center.
Recommended Keywords:
Health Reference Center includes a wealth of articles, videos, and illustrations on diseases and timely health topics organized with an intuitive design that brings key content to the forefront.
Careers in Culinary Arts, 2025. Salem Press
APA Citation: Careers in Culinary Arts,Salem Press, 2025. Salem Online, online.salempress.com/articleDetails.do?articleName=CICulinary_0003.
Careers in Culinary Arts
by
Finding the path that’s right for you means thinking about your own interests, skills, and talents. Important skills for working in culinary arts include analytical, business, communication, creativity, customer-service, decision-making, detail-oriented, dexterity, interpersonal, math, physical stamina, physical strength, problem-solving, and time-management skills, not to mention a love of food and cooking.
Opposing Viewpoints.
Suggested Searches:
Catalog for locating books and Merced College library holdings: all genres including childrens, young adult, fiction, non-fiction, reference and more. Also links to Open Access and library research databases, portal login required.
EBSCO provides access to your librarys e-book collection.eContentis the digital version of books you can access 24 hours a days, seven days a week.
Specialized academic and encyclopedic material: find academic articles and definitions. Excellent beginning resource. Find the Career Information Center here!
Redirect page for list of all EBSCO databases: CINAHL, Medline, Newsbank, Academic Search Premiere, Science Direct and Sport Discus are the most popular databases of the 32 that reside here.
Includes business earning reports, statistical data, company and industry profiles, SWOT and market share reports, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries.
Business Source Elite encompasses a selection of business disciplines, offering access to 492 active full-text journals, along with abstracted and indexed journals.
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.
Specialized academic and encyclopedic material: find academic articles and definitions. Excellent beginning resource. Find the Career Information Center here!
Health Reference Center includes a wealth of articles, videos, and illustrations on diseases and timely health topics organized with an intuitive design that brings key content to the forefront.
Consumer health information on many health topics including medical science, food sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.
Comprehensive source of full text for nursing and allied health journals providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL.
550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, featuring the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Electronic editions of record of newspapers, many in California, for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database-- providingunique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.
Includes more than 700 full text newspapers, providing more than 33 million full text articles and featuring more than 757,000 television and news transcripts.
With NYTimes.com Passes, you have full access to the extensive breaking news, world news, and multimedia of The New York Times without needing your own subscription. Enjoy full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any device. Once activated from within your participating institution’s network, NYTimes.com Passes can be used from any location until expiration.
Covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10-Ks,10-Qsand their exhibits. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily. Research areas in LexisNexis Academic cover top news, general news topics, and news transcripts; non-English language news sources; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; federal case law; U.S. Code; and state legal research.