LibGuides: ENGL 13 Rocha: Essay 2 Resources

Recommended Merced College Library News Databases

Newsbank (Access World News)
Electronic editions of record of newspapers, many in California, for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database-- providingunique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)
Includes more than 700 full text newspapers, providing more than 33 million full text articles and featuring more than 757,000 television and news transcripts.
Newswires (EBSCO)
Database searchable by suject, title, or topic, this archived database provides substantive news sources.
New York Times (NYT)
With NYTimes.com Passes, you have full access to the extensive breaking news, world news, and multimedia of The New York Times without needing your own subscription. Enjoy full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any device. Once activated from within your participating institution’s network, NYTimes.com Passes can be used from any location until expiration.
First time users will need to create a login using their student email and credentials. Once created you may access the NYTimes content for one year before renewing the Pass.
Nexis Uni (Lexis Nexis)
Covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10-Ks,10-Qsand their exhibits. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily. Research areas in LexisNexis Academic cover top news, general news topics, and news transcripts; non-English language news sources; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; federal case law; U.S. Code; and state legal research.

Recommended Free Historic News Collections

California Digital Newspaper Archive
"The California Digital Newspaper Collection is a project of the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR) at the University of California, Riverside. The CDNC is supported in whole or in part by funding provided by the State of California, administered by the California State Library. The CBSR has received five grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities to digitize California newspapers for the National Digital Newspaper Program. Titles digitized as part of the NDNP are available both here and at the Library of Congress Chronicling America website" (CDNC).
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search and read newspaper pages from 1777-1963 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Google News Archives Search
"Google News Archive is an extension of Google News providing free access to scanned archives of newspapers and links to other newspaper archives on the web, both free and paid. Some of the news archives date back to 18th century. There is a timeline view available, to select news from various years" (Wikipedia).

Recommend Merced County Library News Databases

You need a library card account from the county library to access the Merced County Library databases.

You have to live in Merced County in order to get an account.
Apply in-person for a library card.
You can also apply online for an eCard to use electronic resources, like databases.

Newspaper Archive
NewspaperARCHIVE is the world’s best resource for historical and genealogical information. Archive spans more than 400 years of family history, small-town events, world news and more.

Recommended UC Merced Library News Databases

You can use UC Merced Library databases by visiting the campus in person.

Before going to UC Merced, visit the parking information for visitors.
You will need to bring your own device to connect to the guest WiFi.
Once you are connected to the WiFi, you will be able to access UC Merced Library databases.
Download articles to your machine to make sure you can access them again when you leave campus.

Below are just two of the many news databases available through the UC Merced Library that may be helpful for your research, though you can visit the library's wider list of databases that contain newspaper content.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Combined)
Provides full-text access to eight historical newspapers including the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1991), Los Angeles Times (1881-1991), New York Times (1851-2008), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-1994), Washington Post (1877-1995).
U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest)
1985 - present. Provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. Content is available by 8am each day and archives contain coverage as far back as 1985.

Finding Current & Historic News

Tutorials

"Your New York Times Academic Pass" (3:51) by Odyssey Learning Project is licensed under CC BY 3.0

This video walks you through how to set up your NYT Pass. Although the instructions are for another university, the instructions are the same except that when you register, you will use your MCCD email address. You also need to be on campus for the initial registration.

You may also want to visit the Merced College Library's NYT Pass guide.