LibGuides: ENGL 13 Rocha: Essay 3 Resources

Restricting Peer Reviewed Journal Articles by Methodology

Results from research studies typically include statistics, such as in the background and analysis sections.
Some library databases allow you to restrict results by research methodology.
- Some methodologies that could be helpful:
  - empirical study
  - quantitative study
  - meta-analysis
For library databases that don't have a methodology limiter, the abstract, or summary of the study, a researcher provides may include terms such as quantitative or statistical analysis, so it may be helpful to include specific research methods or terms such as statistic* or data in the Abstract field of a library database.
- If using Google Scholar, you can apply this same strategy to your keyword search as there aren't additional search fields.
- Keep in mind, Google Scholar doesn't have a peer-reviewed limiter, so please investigate whether the article is from a real journal.

Tracking Down Studies from News Sources

Many news sources will often link the study they are reporting about or provide enough information to help you find it.
It is always best to track down the original source as a news report may not provide an accurate or thorough overview of the study.
Always cite the original source.
If you can find the original source for free via an embedded link in the article, great!
If the original source is not embedded as a link, copy and paste the title of the study into Google.
- If it's available for free online, great!
- If you can find the original source but cannot access it for free online, copy and paste the title of the study without any colons into OneSearch, the library catalog.
  - If the library has access, OneSearch will direct you to the database that has the article.
  - If the library does not have access, fill out the ILL form.

Restricting Results by Website Domain

Using Google, try a keyword search using your topic, the word statistics, and the site: operator to help you restrict your results to websites that end with a specific domain, such as .gov for government websites
- Example: murder women "united states" site:gov

Finding Statistics

Recommended Library Databases

Academic One File (Gale)
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including peer-reviewed full text for nearly 3,900 journals.
APA PsycINFO (EBSCO)
The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health developed by the American Psychological Association.Contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries as well as open access full text for more than 4,700 records.
JSTOR Essential (ITHAKA)
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Ithaka S+R and Portico.
digital library, interdisciplinary, full-text, scholarly, peer-reviewed (for most journal and ebook content)
OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson)
Provides full text access toEducation;General Science,Humanities,Readers' Guide,Social Sciences,Wilson Business.Contains the full text from ONLY the journals in selected databases to which Wilson has full text rights:Applied Science & Technology Full Text; Art Full Text; Biological & Agricultural Index Plus; Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text; Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)
Covers topics related to emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Provides full text access to nearly 400 journals.
Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO)
Provides extensive coverage of topics related to world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.