Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Getting Started with Artstor Digital Library: Welcome!

Image of Van Gogh's Wheat Fields

Vincent Van Gogh, Wheat Fields with Cypresses, 1889. Image couryesy The Metropolitan Museum of Art

The Artstor Digital Library offers visual media from leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, including many rare and important collections available nowhere else. These collections are rights-cleared for use in education, encompass a wide variety of disciplines, and are enhanced with curated content and classroom-tailored tools.

Access Artstor's collections

Visit library.artstor.org to view more than 3 million images of the world’s cultural heritage in the core collections. You can find Artstor in Merced College's alphabetical list of databases on the library website, or login here to create an Artstor account.  Additionally, anyone can freely access the Public Collections of 1 million items from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, no login necessary.

Make groups and share

Groups are a great way to organize content for your lecture or course, or share a group using links. You can also download groups to PowerPoint for instant presentations.

View and present

Teaching and researching with images are better when you can view details, compare, and present to others

Example of Artstor compare feature

  • Use fullscreen mode to seamlessly and fluidly display media while zooming, panning, and comparing
  • Detail view allows you to interact closely with the media and view the full metadata record
  • For lengthier presentations, you can also quickly download a group of up to 150 images to PowerPoint, each slide
  • automatically accompanied by full metadata

Add your own content with Personal Collections

Organizing your own image content with Artstor’s is a great way to enhance your research and teaching, allowing you to make the connections you want to, for yourself or for a wider group. Just upload, add to a group, and share.

Learn more about using Artstor

Create an account

Create a registered user account to get started and log in from anywhere. You can do this on campus or get access by logging in through the Merced College portal.

Once you have created an account you can access Artstor here.

Search Artstor

Artstor provides several ways to find what you need

Image of Artstor search results

  • Use keywords or phrases with Boolean operators, wildcards, or quotes to conduct your search. Then take advantage of our filtering options to narrow your results further
  • Construct an advanced search using dates, classifications, and collections
  • Browse our content across topics by curated groups, collection, geography, and classification

Quickly cite your sources

Citations can be easily generated in MLA, APA, and Chicago formats.

Image of citation options

Contact Us

  • Text: (209) 666-3235
  • ‚ÄčEmail:  refdesk@mccd.edu
  • Phone: Merced Library: (209) 384-6083
  • Phone: Los Banos Library: (209) 384-6434