LibGuides: HIST 17A Hoyt: Recommended Resources

Databases

Find Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources through the Library

Tertiary sources, such as encyclopedias, point to primary and secondary sources as suggested readings and sometimes contain text or image reproductions of primary sources.

OneSearch (ExLibris)
Catalog for locating books and Merced College library holdings: all genres including childrens, young adult, fiction, non-fiction, reference and more. Also links to Open Access and library research databases, portal login required.
Academic One File (Gale)
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive.
EBSCOhost Web (all databases)
Redirect page for list of all EBSCO databases: CINAHL, Medline, Newsbank, Academic Search Premiere, Science Direct and Sport Discus are the most popular databases of the 32 that reside here.
Ethnic News Watch (ProQuest)
Ethnic News Watch was created in 1991 as a resource to comprehensively cover minority issues in periodical literature and includes global news reports, newswires and news sites.
Follow this link to learn how to use Ethnic News Watch: http://proquest.libguides.com/enw
JSTOR Essential (ITHAKA)
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Ithaka S+R and Portico.
digital library, interdisciplinary, full-text, scholarly, peer-reviewed (for most journal and ebook content)
New York Times (NYT)
With NYTimes.com Passes, you have full access to the extensive breaking news, world news, and multimedia of The New York Times without needing your own subscription. Enjoy full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any device. Once activated from within your participating institution’s network, NYTimes.com Passes can be used from any location until expiration.
First time users will need to create a login using their student email and credentials. Once created you may access the NYTimes content for one year before renewing the Pass.

Open Web

Also Search for Primary Sources on the Web

In addition to databases, many archives, libraries, and museums have digitized documents, images, and other sources that could be considered primary.
Find these collections using a search engine like Google.
- Enter your topic into the search box and add a word like library, archive, LibGuides (a popular research guide platform many libraries use), or even primary sources, etc. to see if an institution out there has a collection on your topic, historical period, or historical figure.
- To limit your results to sites that end with .gov, at the end of the words you enter in the search box, type site:.gov
- To limit your results to sites that end with .edu, at the end of the words you enter in the search box, type site:.edu

Sample Collections

These are some examples of online primary source collections.

100 Milestone Documents
Here is a link to a list of 100 important documents that the National Archives and Records Administration compiled regarding U.S. history from 1776 to 1965.
Africans in America
Developed by PBS, this website traces the history of Africans in America through the Reconstruction period. For each era, find a historical narrative and a resource bank of images, documents, stories, biographies, and commentaries.
AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
Developed by Lynn Nelson, Professor Emeritus of History, University of Kansas, AMDOCS provides links to documents related to American and U.S. political, diplomatic, military, and legal history. Documents range from the 1400s through 2009.
American Civil War Collections
The University of Virginia's Electronic Text Center is home to a variety of primary source material on the American Civil War, including letters, diaries, and newspapers.
American History From Revolution to Reconstruction
Developed by the University of Groningen's Computing in the Humanities department, the American History From Revolution to Reconstruction Project contains primary source documents related to American history from pre-1600 to the present.
American Memory
The Library of Congress's American Memory has a growing collection of digitized primary source documents from different time periods in U.S. history.
American Presidency Project
Developed by University of California Santa Barbara, the American Presidency Project has transcripts for presidential speeches and documents, as well as sound and video recordings.
American Rhetoric
A trove of speeches.
The Avalon Project
Developed by the Lillian Goldman Law Library of Yale Law School, the Avalong Project contains law, history, and diplomacy documents from ancient times through the 21st century.
Britain and the American Civil War
"While war was fought on American soil, the conflict had global repercussions, with Britain playing an important strategic, commercial and diplomatic role." This collection highlights Britain's involvement.
C-SPAN
Programs dating back to 1987.
Calisphere
Discover over one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more. devoted to California History. The collections on Calisphere have been digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state.
Chronicling America
Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress, Chronicling America allows you to search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922. The U.S. Newspaper Directory helps to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Cornell Digital Collections
Digitized primary source documents. From Cornell University.
David Rumsey Map Collection
Digital History
This website was designed and developed to support the teaching of American History in K-12 schools and colleges and is supported by the College of Education at the University of Houston.
Digital Public Library of America
The DPLA is "a portal that delivers students, teachers, scholars, and the public to incredible resources, wherever they may be in America."
Discovering American Women's History Online
Primary sources in women's history. From the Middle Tennessee State University.
Documenting the American South
Primary resources for the study of southern history, literature, and culture. From the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Harvard University Library Digital Collections
Digitized archival images. Some are copyrighted; others are in the public domain.
Historical Census Browser
Developed by the University of Virginia, the Historical Census Browser has information drawn directly from historical volumes of the U.S. Census of Population and Housing.
Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights
From the University of Maryland.
History Matters: The U.S. Survey Course on the Web
This website was first developed in 1998 by the American Social History Project/Center for Media & Learning, City University of New York, and the Center for History and New Media, George Mason University, with initial funding from the W. K. Kellogg Foundation.
The Huntingon Free Library Native American Collection
The Huntington Free Library Navtive American Collection has 91 native language dictionaries that were digitized by Cornell University.
Internet Archive Texts
E-books in fiction, children's literature, academic texts, and historical documents.
JCB Archive of Early American Images
The Archive of Early American Images from John Carter Brown University Library at Brown University is "[a] database of graphic representations of the colonial Americas, from Hudson Bay to Tierra del Fuego, drawn entirely from primary sources printed or created between 1492 and ca. 1825."
Library of Congress Maps Collection
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
Historical prints and photographs. Most are in the public domain.
Making of America
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The project is a joint venture between the University of Michigan and Cornell University.
Mapping History
Interactive and animated map representations of historical problems, events, developments, and dynamics. From the University of Oregon.
National Archives and Records Administration
Scanned text and images. "All of the digital images that are available on [the] website are in the public domain."
National Security Archive
From George Washington University.
Old Maps Online
Search for online digital historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search. Search by typing a place-name or by clicking in the map window, and narrow by date. Funded by JISC. Many participating institutions. Many of these maps are in the public domain.
Perseus Digital Library 19th Century American Collection
From Tufts University.
Project Gutenberg
The biggest collection of public domain e-books on the web. Many classics and primary sources.
Schoenberg Center for Electronic Text and Image (SCETI)
Rare books and manuscripts. From the University of Pennsylvania.
Smithsonian Institution
Check out the Folkways Collection, the Photography Initiative, and the Archives of American Art.
University of Chicago Digital Collections
Digitized classics and primary source documents.
Vincent Voice Library
Clips of American political speeches. From Michigan State University Libraries.
Women Working, 1800-1930
Digitized primary source documents in women's involvement in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression. From Harvard University.
World Digital Library
Digitized primary source documents from countries and cultures around the world. From the Library of Congress.
Yale University Library Digital Collections
Photographs and digitized archival images. Some are copyrighted; others are in the public domain.