The Chicago Manual of Style by
Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
All Merced College students have access to Microsoft 365 (formerly branded as Office 365), which includes Word, through student email.
In the notes-bibliography system, each in-text reference is denoted by a number that corresponds to a footnote.
From Purdue OWL's "CMOS NB Sample Paper."
From Purdue OWL's "CMOS NB Sample Paper."
"Create Chicago-style footnotes in MS Word" (3:49) by Amy Whitson is used with permission. Start at 1:10 to get step-by-step instructions for inserting a footnote and adjusting the footnote spacing.
In the notes-bibliography system, the page at the end of your paper where you will list all of your citations should be titled Bibliography.
From Purdue OWL's "CMOS NB Sample Paper."
Full Note - The first time that you use a footnote, write out the full note.
1. First Name Last Name, Title: Subtitle (City of Publication: Publisher, Publication Date), page #.
1. Michael Pollan, The Omnivore's Dream: A Natural History of Four Meals (New York: Penguin, 2006), 88.
Short Note - The next time you use the source, use the shortened note.
2. Last Name, Shortened Title, page #.
2. Pollan, The Omnivore's Dream, 92.
Bibliography
Last Name, First Name. Title: Subtitle. City of Publication: Publisher, Publication Date.
Pollan, Michael. The Omnivore's Dream: A Natural History of Four Meals. New York: Penguin, 2006.
Full Note - The first time that you use a footnote, write out the full note.
1. First Name Last Name and First Name Last Name, Title: Subtitle (City of Publication: Publisher, Publication Date), page #.
1. Geoffrey C. Ward and Ken Burns, The War: An Intimate History, 1941-1945 (New York: Knopf, 2007), 50.
Short Note - The next time you use the source, use the shortened note.
2. Last Name and Last Name, Shortened Title, page #.
2. Ward and Burns, The War, 102.
Bibliography
Last Name, First Name and First Name Last name. Title: Subtitle. City of Publication: Publisher, Publication Date.
Ward, Geoffrey C. and Ken Burns. The War: An Intimate History, 1941-1945. New York: Knopf, 2007.
Full Note - The first time that you use a footnote, write out the full note.
1. First Name Last Name, First Name Last Name, and First Name Last name, Title: Subtitle (City of Publication: Publisher, Publication Date), page #.
1. Michael A. Patten, Guy McCaskie, and Philip Unitt, Birds of the Salton Sea: Status, Biogeography, and Ecology (Berkeley: University of California Press, 2003), 37.
Short Note - The next time you use the source, use the shortened note.
2. Last Name, Last Name, and Last Name, Shortened Title, page #.
2. Patten, McCaskie, and Unitt, Birds of the Salton Sea, 38.
Bibliography
Last Name, First Name, First Name Last name, and First Name Last name. Title: Subtitle. City of Publication: Publisher, Publication Date.
Patten, Michael A., Guy McCaskie, and Philip Unitt. Birds of the Salton Sea: Status, Biogeography, and Ecology. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2003.
If a source is credited to 4 or more authors, include all authors in the bibliographic citation.
In the note, include only the first author’s First Name Last Name followed by et al.
Full Note - The first time that you use a footnote, write out the full note.
1. Chapter author's First Name Last Name, "Title of Chapter," in Title: Subtitle, ed. First Name Last Name of editor (City of Publication: Publisher, Publication Date), page #.
1. Ida B Wells, "Lynch Law in All Its Phases," in With Pen and Voice: A Critical Anthology of Nineteenth African-American Women, ed. Shirley Wilson Logan (Carbondale: Southern Illinois University
Press, 1995), 82.
Short Note - The next time you use the source, use the shortened note.
2. Chapter author's Last Name, "Chapter Title," page #.
2. Wells, "Lynch Law in All Its Phases," 85.
Bibliography
Chapter author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Chapter." In Title: Subtitle, edited by First Name Last Name of editor, page numbers of chapter. City of Publication: Publisher, Publication Date.
Wells, Ida B. "Lynch Law in All Its Phases." In With Pen and Voice: A Critical Anthology of Nineteenth African-American Women, edited by Shirley Wilson Logan, 80-99. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University
Press, 1995.
Full Note - The first time that you use a footnote, write out the full note.
1. Original Author First Name Last Name, Title: Subtitle, trans. First Name Last Name of translator (City of Publication, Publisher, Publication Date), page #.
1. Sergei Eisenstein, Film Sense, trans. Jay Leyda (London: Faber and Faber, 1968), 42.
Short Note - The next time you use the source, use the shortened note.
2. Original Author Last Name, Shortened Title, page #.
2. Eisenstein, Film Sense, 45.
Bibliography
Original Author Last Name, First Name.Title: Subtitle. Translated by First Name Last Name of translator. City of Publication, Publisher, Publication Date.
Eisenstein, Sergei. Film Sense. Translated by Jay Leyda. London: Faber and Faber, 1968.
Full Note - The first time that you use a footnote, write out the full note.
1. First Name Last Name, Title: Subtitle (City of Publication: Publisher, date) location/section/page numbers, doi:.
1. Mark Evan Bonds, Absolute Music: The History of an Idea (New York: Oxford University Press, 2014), chap. 3, https://doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199343638.003.0004.
Short Note - The next time you use the source, use the shortened note.
2. Last name, Shortened Title, location/section/page numbers, doi.
2. Bonds, Absolute Music, chap. 11, https://doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199343638.003.0012.
Bibliography
Last name, First name. Title: Subtitle. City of Publication: Publisher, date. doi:.
Bonds, Mark Evan. Absolute Music: The History of an Idea. New York: Oxford University Press, 2014. https://doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199343638.003.0004.
Full Note - The first time that you use a footnote, write out the full note.
1. First Name Last Name, "Article Title," Journal Name volume #, no. issue # (Month Year): page numbers used, DOI/URL.
1. Robert H. Ferrell, "Truman's Place in History," Reviews in American History 18, no. 1 (February 1990): 8, http://www.jstor.org/stable/2702718.
Short Note - The next time you use the source, use the shortened note.
2. Last Name, "Shortened Article Title," page #.
2. Ferrell, "Truman's," 9.
Bibliography
Last Name, First Name. "Article Title." Journal Name volume #, no issue # (Month Year): inclusive page numbers. DOI/URL.
Ferrell, Robert H. "Truman's Place in History." Reviews in American History 18, no. 1 (February 1990): 1-9. http://www.jstor.org/stable/2702718.
Full Note - The first time that you use a footnote, write out the full note.
1. First Name Last Name, "Article Title," Newspaper Name, Month Day, Year of Publication, URL/database name.
1. Farhad Manjoo, “Snap Makes a Bet on the Cultural Supremacy of the Camera,” New York Times, March 8, 2017, https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/08/technology/snap-makes-a-bet-on-the-cultural-supremacy-of-the-camera.html.
Short Note - The next time you use the source, use the shortened note.
2. Last Name, "Shortened Article Title."
2. Manjoo, “Snap.”
Bibliography
Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Newspaper Name, Month Day, Year of Publication. URL/database name.
Manjoo, Farhad. “Snap Makes a Bet on the Cultural Supremacy of the Camera.” New York Times, March 8, 2017. https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/08/technology/snap-makes-a-bet-on-the-cultural-supremacy-
of-the-camera.html.