While I do encourage exploring topics through your textbook, Wikipedia, Google, AI, etc., there are some library databases, which are subscriptions to content that is not necessarily available for free online, that you may want to use to get broad background about a topic.
The following is a list of library databases that point to reference sources. Reference sources provide definitions, key figures, dates, terms, references to learn more, etc. Using reference sources, which can include print and electronic encyclopedias, manuals, handbooks, dictionaries, etc., can help you learn context related to a topic before diving into more specific research.
An online database collection on African American history and culture Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists
The American Indian Experience is an invaluable digital resource that provides in-depth historical accounts and cultural information about the indigenous peoples of North America.
An online database collection on Asian American history and culture. Developed with the guidance of Asian American librarians and subject specialists
Regarded as the most scholarly of encyclopedias, the Encyclopedia Britannica provides access to hundreds or scholarly articles in multiple categories and subjects.
Specialized academic and encyclopedic material: find academic articles and definitions. Excellent beginning resource. Find the Career Information Center here!
The first-ever database dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos, the largest, fastest growing minority group in the United States.
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.
After developing a general idea, which may be the result of using Wikipedia, Google, AI, and/or library reference databases, I would also treat my first few searches for scholarly books and journal articles from an exploratory standpoint, recognizing that the sources I initially skim and email / download may not be the ones I actually use in my paper.
The following is a list of library databases that contain a mixture of article types (not just journals) and scholarly eBooks from a variety of subjects, including history.
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive.
Redirect page for list of all EBSCO databases: CINAHL, Medline, Newsbank, Academic Search Premiere, Science Direct and Sport Discus are the most popular databases of the 32 that reside here.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Ithaka S+R and Portico.