A database is an online collection of items that can be sorted and categorized.
Amazon.com is a database that allows you to sort items you can purchase by categories, such as books, clothes, etc. You can also use filters, such as price, to find the best deals.
Library databases provide you with access to information that isn't available for free online, such as scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, and more. The Merced College Library spends $80-90k every year to renew its subscriptions to 70+ databases.
Academic Search Complete is a regularly used library database that is multi-disciplinary in focus. It provides access to the full text (complete articles) for more than 4,600 journals, which includes 3,900 peer-reviewed journals.
Many of the the library's databases allow you to sort and filter information sources by source type (e.g., scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles, publication date (e.g., 2009-2019), and, in some cases, by language, geography, etc. The filters available will depend on the specific database.
With NYTimes.com Passes, you have full access to the extensive breaking news, world news, and multimedia of The New York Times without needing your own subscription. Enjoy full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any device. Once activated from within your participating institution’s network, NYTimes.com Passes can be used from any location until expiration.
Covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10-Ks,10-Qsand their exhibits. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily. Research areas in LexisNexis Academic cover top news, general news topics, and news transcripts; non-English language news sources; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; federal case law; U.S. Code; and state legal research.
Coverage includes all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world; full-text scholarly articles from more than 360 academic journals and literary magazines the majority peer-reviewed scholarly monographs, literary correspondence and diaries, reviews children's literature to adult fiction
This award-winning digital library has been created as a response to the need for a high-quality online research tool for drama and literature students, professors, and teachers. It is the only resource to combine exclusively available playtext content and scholarly publications with filmed live performances, film adaptations, and audio plays.