Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference & Specialized Encyclopedias
Salem Press (Grey House)
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.
Gale Ebooks (GALE)
Specialized academic and encyclopedic material: find academic articles and definitions. Excellent beginning resource. Find the Career Information Center here!
Encyclopedia Britannica (Britannica)
Regarded as the most scholarly of encyclopedias, the Encyclopedia Britannica provides access to hundreds or scholarly articles in multiple categories and subjects.
The Praeger Handbook of Environmental Health by
Call Number: REF 363.7 PRA
Publication Date: 2012-04-23
100 entries organized according to key topic areas in environmental health * Contributions from more than 150 environmental health experts from U.S. and international settings * Figures and graphs support the main points of each article
Encyclopedia of Science and Technology by
Call Number: REF 503 MCG (multi-volume)
Publication Date: 2012-10-12
From acoustics to zoology, the bestselling, authoritative encyclopedia that brings the latest in science and technology to students.
30-second biology : the 50 most thought-provoking theories of life, each explained in half a minute by
Call Number: REF 570 THI
Publication Date: 2016
The 50 most thought-provoking theories of life, each explained in half a minute. 30-Second Biology tackles the vital science of life, dissecting the 50 most thought-provoking theories of our ecosystem and ourselves.
30-Second Genetics by
Call Number: REF 576.5 THI
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
"30-Second Genetics cuts though the jargon to chart the most extraordinary discoveries in the field, from the fundamentals of cell biology to the recent unbelievable developments in DNA sequencing and genome editing.
Encyclopedia of Microbiology by
Call Number: REF 579 MAC
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Humans have always struggled with how to balance the benefits bacteria offer with the threats that they produce. Much less obvious than the effects microorganisms have on plants and animals are the indirect ways in which they shape the planet. These hidden activities have rarely been explained in science, though scientists realize that the behavior of microbes supports all life on Earth.
Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology by
Call Number: REF 579 SIN
Publication Date: 2002-03-05
A unique, encyclopaedic reference work covering the whole field of pure and applied microbiology and microbial molecular biology.
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition by
Call Number: REF 613.2 ENC
Publication Date: 2013-03-08
Contagious Diseases Sourcebook by
Call Number: REF 616.9 CON
Publication Date: 2016-09-27
This print and online resource provides consumer health information about diseases spread from person to person through direct physical contact, airborne transmissions, sexual contact, or contact with blood or other body fluids.
Sexually Transmitted Diseases Sourcebook by
Call Number: REF 616.951 SEX 2019
Publication Date: 2019-04-05
Offers consumer health information about risk factors, symptoms, testing, and treatment of sexually transmitted diseases and related complications, along with facts about prevention strategies. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Books for Check Out
I Contain Multitudes by
Call Number: 579.17 YON
Publication Date: 2016-08-09
This is a groundbreaking, wondrously informative, and vastly entertaining examination of the most significant revolution in biology since Darwin--a "microbe's-eye view" of the world that reveals a marvelous, radically reconceived picture of life on earth.
The Human Superorganism by
Call Number: 613 DIE
Publication Date: 2016-07-12
A cutting-edge new book that reveals how foreign microbes might actually be good for us, contrary to past belief. The microorganisms that we have sought to eliminate have been supporting our ancestors for centuries.
Let Them Eat Dirt by
Call Number: 613.1 FIN
Publication Date: 2016-09-20
In the two hundred years since we discovered that microbes cause infectious diseases, we've battled to keep them at bay. But a recent explosion of scientific knowledge has led to undeniable evidence that early exposure to these organisms is beneficial to a child's well-being.
Brain Maker by
Call Number: 612.33 PER
Publication Date: 2015-04-28
The bestselling author of Grain Brain uncovers the powerful role of gut bacteria in determining your brain's destiny. Debilitating brain disorders are on the rise-from children diagnosed with autism and ADHD to adults developing dementia at younger ages than ever before.
10% Human by
Call Number: 612.33 COL
Publication Date: 2015-05-05
You are just 10% human. For every one of the cells that make up the vessel that you call your body, there are nine impostor cells hitching a ride. You are not just flesh and blood, muscle and bone, brain and skin, but also bacteria and fungi.
Call Number: 616.835 ABR
Publication Date: 2018-10-01
In 1988, the World Health Organization launched what was intended to be a twelve-year campaign to wipe out the polio virus and end the disease for all time. Seventeen years after that deadline, and several billion dollars over budget, the polio campaign continues to grind on, vaccinatingmillions of children and hoping that each new year might see an end to the disease.
Sex on the Kitchen Table by
Call Number: 581.3 ELL
Publication Date: 2018-10-01
At the tips of our forks and on our dinner plates, a buffet of botanical dalliance awaits us. Sex and food are intimately intertwined, and this relationship is nowhere more evident than among the plants that sustain us. From lascivious legumes to horny hot peppers, most of humanity's calories and other nutrition come from seeds and fruits--the products of sex--or from flowers, the organs that make plant sex possible.
Five Quarts by
Call Number: 612.11 HAY
Publication Date: 2006-02-14
This beguiling brew of fascinating scientific facts and illuminating, poignant anecdotes makes Five Quarts something like blood itself: vital and pulsing with energy
Deadly Viruses by
Call Number: 616.9 DEA
Publication Date: 2015-12-07
Issues surrounding deadly viruses are put under the microscope. A question-and-response format prompts readers to examine complex issues from multiple viewpoints such whether Ebola a serious threat, whether vaccines against deadly viruses be compulsory, and whether an HIV/AIDS crisis still exist.