These databases mostly contain background information, but they may also lead you to other sources, such as journal articles.
Over 8,500 online articles from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology 10thedition. 110,000+ definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms.Biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography .The latest news in science and technology from Science News and ScienCentral videos. Continuously updated, fully-searchable, media-rich content, terms, images and videos
Consumer health information on many health topics including medical science, food sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.
Regarded as the most scholarly of encyclopedias, the Encyclopedia Britannica provides access to hundreds or scholarly articles in multiple categories and subjects.
Health Reference Center includes a wealth of articles, videos, and illustrations on diseases and timely health topics organized with an intuitive design that brings key content to the forefront.
These databases contain a mixture of source types, including news, magazine, and journal articles. Use limiters within the database to restrict results by source type. For example, you can limit to peer-reviewed journal articles.
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive.
Redirect page for list of all EBSCO databases: CINAHL, Medline, Newsbank, Academic Search Premiere, Science Direct and Sport Discus are the most popular databases of the 32 that reside here.
"Introduction to EBSCOhost - Tutorial" (4:08) by EBSCO Tutorials
This tutorial provides an overview of the features of the EBSCOhost interface, including:
Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, GreenFILE, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Science Full Text Select, OmniFile Full Text Select, MEDLINE, and OmniFile Full Text Select are all databases provided by EBSCOhost. While there are a few differences, the interfaces are nearly identical, so once you learn how to use one EBSCOhost database, you'll know how to use almost all of them by this brand.
Consumer Health Complete by EBSCOhost has a very different interface than the other EBSCOhost-provided databases.
See the top five tips for students to get the most value out of using the resources available in AccessScience.
"Gale Academic OneFile Database Search" by Sandburg Library is licensed under CC BY 3.0.
This video shows a search in Sandburg Library's Gale Academic OneFile database. The Merced College Library also subscribes to this database.
"Health Reference Center Overview Video" (4:57) by Infobase
"Health Reference Center offers comprehensive, in-depth coverage of body systems, current health issues, major diseases and conditions, treatments, and procedures, as well as health and nutrition information specific to men, women, children, teens, and seniors..."