LibGuides: ENGL 01C Mattos: Recommended Databases

About Library Databases

The Merced College Library has 71 databases.
In 2023-2024, the library spent $190,000 to give you access to content that is behind paywalls.
Most scholarly content costs money, but some popular content also costs money.
Some databases focus on specific types of sources, while some have a mixture of sources.
Some databases are multidisciplinary, while others may be specific to a certain field of study.
You can think of databases as being very similar to video streaming platforms--they don't all have the same content, and they also require a subscription.

OneSearch (ExLibris) This link opens in a new window
Catalog for locating books and Merced College library holdings: all genres including childrens, young adult, fiction, non-fiction, reference and more. Also links to Open Access and library research databases, portal login required.

Academic One File (Gale)
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive.
EBSCOhost Web (all databases)
Redirect page for list of all EBSCO databases: CINAHL, Medline, Newsbank, Academic Search Premiere, Science Direct and Sport Discus are the most popular databases of the 32 that reside here.
JSTOR Essential (ITHAKA)
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Ithaka S+R and Portico.
digital library, interdisciplinary, full-text, scholarly, peer-reviewed (for most journal and ebook content)