LibGuides: ENGL 01B Baker: Recommended Article Databases

Article Databases

Many of these databases have a mixture of source types. Some examples:

JSTOR actually has only scholarly journal articles and eBook chapters. Use either type of source.
Literature Research Center has summaries, biographies, book reviews (opinions about a book), and critical essays from scholarly journals. Only use the critical essays.
Academic Search Complete has magazine articles, news articles, and scholarly journal articles. Skip news sources.
Ethnic NewsWatch has magazine articles, news articles, and scholarly journal articles. Skip news sources.

Please use the limiters within databases to narrow down to the types of sources you can use.

Literature

JSTOR Essential (ITHAKA)
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Ithaka S+R and Portico.
digital library, interdisciplinary, full-text, scholarly, peer-reviewed (for most journal and ebook content)
Literature Resource Center (GALE)
Coverage includes all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world; full-text scholarly articles from more than 360 academic journals and literary magazines the majority peer-reviewed scholarly monographs, literary correspondence and diaries, reviews children's literature to adult fiction

Multi-Disciplinary

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including peer-reviewed full text for nearly 3,900 journals.
Academic One File (Gale)
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive.
MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO)
Designed for public libraries, provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications dating back as far as 1975 covering nearly every subject area. Also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,000 primary source documents and over 500,000 images.
OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson)
Provides full text access toEducation;General Science,Humanities,Readers' Guide,Social Sciences,Wilson Business.Contains the full text from ONLY the journals in selected databases to which Wilson has full text rights:Applied Science & Technology Full Text; Art Full Text; Biological & Agricultural Index Plus; Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text; Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.

Cultural

Ethnic News Watch (ProQuest)
Ethnic News Watch was created in 1991 as a resource to comprehensively cover minority issues in periodical literature and includes global news reports, newswires and news sites.
Follow this link to learn how to use Ethnic News Watch: http://proquest.libguides.com/enw

Video Tutorials

"Introduction to EBSCOhost - Tutorial" by EBSCO Tutorials (4:08).

EBSCOhost provides a number of databases, and most work in the way the video shows. However, there may be different filters to narrow your results between the databases provided by EBSCOhost.

"Gale Academic OneFile Database Search" (4:13) by Sandburg Library (CC BY)

"Using Ethnic NewsWatch" (starts at 0:52 and ends at 2:04) by Contra Costa College Library (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0)

"Searching the JSTOR Database" (6:08; video clip starts at 0:24) by Pace University Library

"Literature Resource Center" (starts at 1:01 and ends at 5:46) by Erie CC