LibGuides: ENGL 01A Piro: Suggested Databases & Websites

Search Tools for Getting Started

Databases

Academic One File (Gale)
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including peer-reviewed full text for nearly 3,900 journals.
EBSCO eBook Collection
Provides access to the library's EBSCO eBook collection. Contains the digital version of books you can access 24 hours a days, seven days a week.

The Merced Sun-Star website won't give you access to all of its content, but the Merced College Library subscribes to the the Merced Sun-Star online through its subscription to the NewsBank database. You can find all Sun-Star articles dating back to 2001 through NewsBank.

Newsbank (Access World News)
Electronic editions of record of newspapers, many in California, for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database-- providingunique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.

Websites

Merced Sun-Star
The Merced Sun-Star was founded in 1869 as the San Joaquin Valley Argus. The paper moved to Merced a year later and, after a series of acquisitions and name changes, became the Merced Sun-Star in 1926. Dean Lesher bought the paper in the 1930s and ushered in the newspaper’s modern era. In 1971, the Sun-Star moved from its downtown location to the current G Street site. The paper was sold to U.S. Media in 1985 and was acquired by The McClatchy Company in January of 2004.
Merced County Times
Established in 1964, Mid-Valley Publications (MVP) is an employee-owned group of five weekly community newspapers in Merced and Stanislaus counties. With the Merced County Times, Atwater-Winton Times, Hilmar Times, Hughson Chronicle & Denair Dispatch, and Waterford News, we are one of the longest-standing publishers of local newspapers within these two counties.

Databases 101: Gale Academic OneFile

Academic Search Complete Database in 3 Minutes

Searching EBSCO eBooks - Tutorial

How to Search for Merced Sun-Star Articles in NewsBank

Click on NewsBank. You may be asked to enter your Portal information if you aren't already logged into the Portal.
Click on the A-Z Sources List link located near the top left-hand corner.

Type Merced Sun-Star into the search box
Three Merced Sun-Star options will appear: the newspaper content, blog content, and web edition articles.

Check box the options you would like to search in.
Click on the "Search Within These Selections" button.

You are now ready to search for articles from the Merced Sun-Star.

To browse specific issues rather than run a search on a topic, click on the Merced Sun-Star link under the Source Name column. Then, select the date you would like to browse from the calendar. You can also change the year from the drop-down menu on the right.