The information cycle is the process through which information is produced, circulated, used, and changed in stages over time; it impacts the kinds of sources available on a topic.
Encyclopedia of American Immigration by
Designed for high school students, college undergraduates and the general researcher, Encyclopedia of American Immigration offers a clear and innovative approach to immigration history that can also be used by advanced students and scholars. Fully updated, this three-volume set features dozens of new entries as well as extensive updates to existing entries. Taken together, they paint a wide-ranging portrait of the trials and triumphs of immigration in the United States from the 17th century to the present, treating this complex issue in extensive detail. New entries in this edition include: Arizona SB 1070 Central American Refugees Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) ICE (U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement) Sanctuary Cities Trump Administration Family Separation Policy Vartelas v. Holder Over 70 articles on Specific Ethnic and National Immigrant Groups outline the group's immigration history, emphasizing what has made each group unique. One-third of the essays are Overviews covering broad issues ranging from accent discrimination to AIDS, world migration patterns, and xenophobia. Other important essays cover events, laws, treaties, organizations. institutions, and Supreme Court rulings on immigration. In addition, every State in the union has its own essay, averaging nearly 1,000 words in length, and a table summarizing demographic data. Ten cities with particularly large immigrant populations are also subjects of essays. Lastly, the set has articles on 45 Individual Persons, most of whom were post-independence-era immigrants who had a significant impact on the United States. Each essay focuses on the experiences of their subjects as immigrants. Individual essays use the same types of ready-reference top matter for which Salem reference works are noted, and every essay begins with a brief summary of its topic's significance in American immigration history. Plus, all essays, regardless of length, have a "Further Reading" list, which is thoughtfully annotated in longer pieces.
Latino History and Culture by
Latinos are the fastest growing population in America today. This two-volume encyclopedia traces the history of Latinos in the United States from colonial times to the present, focusing on their impact on the nation in its historical development and current culture. "Latino History and Culture" covers the myriad ethnic groups that make up the Latino population. It explores issues such as labor, legal and illegal immigration, traditional and immigrant culture, health, education, political activism, art, literature, and family, as well as historical events and developments. A-Z entries cover eras, individuals, organizations and institutions, critical events in U.S. history and the impact of the Latino population, communities and ethnic groups, and key cities and regions. Each entry includes cross references and bibliographic citations, and a comprehensive index and illustrations augment the text.
"5 Reasons to Use Reference Sources" by U of G Library (2:41) is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0.
The Tlateloco Massacre, Mexico 1968, and the Emotional Triangle of Anger, Grief and Shame by
When talking about the Tlatelolco 1968 massacre, neither official sources nor the voice of the people aim to tell the factual truth of what occurred. Instead, they stir up feelings of anger, sadness, or shame. This book shows that the extent to which these emotions are triggered affects how much those reading the story or article will believe it. This is why so many different 'truths' have grown up around the event over the past fifty years. If those emotions are not triggered, the reader will not believe the text, even if the information it contains is the same as in the 'truthful' piece.
Crucible of Struggle: A History of Mexican Americans from Colonial Times to the Present Era by
Ranging from the founding of New Mexico in 1598 to the 2008 Obama presidential campaign, Crucible of Struggle: A History of Mexican Americans from the Colonial Period to the Present Era vividly outlines and explores the totality of the 500-year Mexican American experience that is woven into the greater context of American history. It maps out current debates in Mexican American history while also incorporating new scholarship from the last thirty years. Taking a regional approach that carefully avoids sweeping generalizations about Mexican Americans' experiences - and including and acknowledging the presence and contributions of women - the book covers such diverse topics as gender, Mexican/Native American interactions, and Mexican migration. The book begins with a discussion of the formative stages of Mexican life and society in the Southwest, including Spanish colonialism and the themes of settlement, Indian and colonial intercultural trade, and Indian resistance; the rise of capitalist agriculture in the 1870s and 1880s; agrarian protest and populism; race relations; and the effect of late-nineteenth-century railroad building on the economics of northern Mexico and on the U.S. and Mexican migration. It goes on to cover a variety of topics, for example, the first wave of Mexican immigration to the U.S., from the 1910 Mexican Revolution to the early Great Depression, reflecting on the challenges that Mexicans faced in the initial years and their adaptation to their new homeland. The text also details such key topics as repatriation; the surge of union activism among mine, cannery, and agricultural workers in the 1930s; the appeal of communism and the struggle against fascism; the domestic and overseas warfront experiences of Mexican Americans during World War II; the postwar struggles for economic and social justice; 1960s and 1970s Chicano movement radicalism, including the self-emancipation of Mexican American women; the 1980s multicultural wars spawned by America's rightward turn, and the ongoing process of globalization and its increasing inequalities as embodied in the North American Free Trade Agreement. The final chapter is an epilogue that considers the post-9/11 anti-immigrant fervor and the implications of the dramatic growth of the Latino population in the early twenty-first century.
Rural Protest and the Making of Democracy in Mexico, 1968-2000 by
When the PRI fell from power in the elections of 2000, scholars looked for an explanation. Some focused on international pressures, while others pointed to recent electoral reforms. In contrast, Dolores Trevizo argues that a more complete explanation takes much earlier democratizing changes in civil society into account. Her book explores how largely rural protest movements laid the groundwork for liberalization of the electoral arena and the consolidation of support for two opposition parties, the PAN on the right and the PRD on the left, that eventually mounted a serious challenge to the PRI. She shows how youth radicalized by the 1968 showdown between the state and students in Mexico City joined forces with peasant militants in nonviolent rural protest to help bring about needed reform in the political system. In response to this political effervescence in the countryside, agribusinessmen organized in peak associations that functioned like a radical social movement. Their countermovement formulated the ideology of neoliberalism, and they were ultimately successful in mobilizing support for the PAN. Together, social movements and the opposition parties nurtured by them contributed to Mexico's transformation from a one-party state into a real electoral democracy nearly a hundred years after the Revolution.
"How Library Stuff Works: Scholarly Books" (2:29) by McMaster Libraries is licensed under CC BY 3.0