LibGuides: ENGL 01A Gonzalez: Citing in MLA 9

Overview

Why Cite?

To give credit to others for their ideas
To provide support for your argument
To help your reader find and read the sources you used

When to Cite

Paraphrasing, summarizing, or directly quoting from any source
Acknowledging another person for an idea
Using your own previous work

How to Cite

MLA citation requires two parts:

In-Text Citations: brief citations included within the text of your paper. They point your reader to the full citation at the end of your paper.
Work Cited Page: a page at the end of your paper listing all the sources you use

Watch the Video

"This video introduces the purpose and basic conventions of citing sources in-text and Works Cited using the [MLA] Style, 9th edition, 2021."

"Introduction to Citation Styles: MLA 9th ed." (3:38) by CSUDH Library is licensed under CC BY 3.0

MLA Handbook

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language; The Modern Language Association of America Teaching and learning MLA style is about to get easier. For nearly seventy years, the Modern Language Association has helped student writers choose trustworthy sources and use them to support their own ideas. Now, the authority on writing and research presents the clearest approach to MLA style yet with the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook. The ninth edition works as both a textbook and a reference guide. Focusing on source evaluation, it features a wealth of visual examples and updated advice on punctuation and grammar, footnotes and endnotes, annotated bibliographies, and paper formatting. An all-in-one resource that makes MLA style easier to learn and use, the MLA Handbook includes: Expanded, in-depth guidance on creating works-cited-list entries using the MLA template of core elements that explains what each core element is, where to find it in various sources, and how to style it. A new, easy-to-follow explanation of in-text citations. A new chapter containing recommendations for using inclusive language. A new appendix with hundreds of sample works-cited-list entries by publication format, including books, databases, websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more. Updated guidelines on avoiding plagiarism. Although there are numerous websites, apps, reference works, and cheat sheets that claim to help with MLA style, there's only one truly authoritative resource to help your students on their paths to becoming better writers. The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is the most comprehensive guide the MLA has ever produced, with an all-inclusive approach to writing, research, documentation, and formatting.
Call Number: In print in Merced and Los Banos: Nonfiction 808 MLA and Reference 808 MLA
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021-05-30

Free Microsoft 365 Access

All Merced College students have access to Microsoft 365 (formerly branded as Office 365), which includes Word, through student email.

How to Use Microsoft 365
From Merced College's Technology Support Desk. Review FAQ number 2.

Paper Format

Chapter 1: Introduction to Formatting Your Research Project
Free chapter from the MLA Handbook (9th ed.). Use the Prev and Next arrows on the left to go back or forward in the chapter.
MLA General Format
From Purdue OWL

In-Text Citation

Chapter 6 Citing Sources in the Text
Access a physical copy of the MLA Handbook (9th ed.) from the Merced College Library. Chapter 6 is all about citing sources within the text of your paper.
In-Text Citation
From MLA Style Center
In-Text Citations: The Basics
From Purdue OWL

Works Cited Page

MLA 9 Handout
From the Merced College Library. The first page is for print and interview sources. The second page is for database and online sources.
Chapter 5 The List of Works Cited
Access a physical copy of the MLA Handbook (9th ed.) from the Merced College Library. Chapter 5 is all about creating citations for your Works Cited page.
Works Cited: A Quick Guide
From MLA Style Center
MLA Formatting and Style Guide
From Purdue OWL

Workshop, Slides, and Tutorial

Citing and Formatting in MLA 9 Workshop Recording
Faculty Librarian Lindsay Davis presented a MLA workshop through the Student Success Workshop program in February 2022. This recording was provided by Student Success.
MLA 9 Google Slides
Faculty Librarian Lindsay Davis' Google Slides from the MLA workshop through the Student Success Workshop program in February 2022.
Citing and Formatting in MLA 9 Tutorial
Faculty librarian Lindsay Davis developed this interactive tutorial. This tutorial will guide you through formatting a paper, creating in-text citations, and recognizing the core elements for creating works cited entries in MLA 9th edition. You will also find additional resources to help you cite your sources. The tutorial can be used independently or as an assignment. You can take it as often as you'd like.