Try searching the catalog for the subject
children AND prison
juveniles AND crime
There are many ways to search for print and e-books in the catalog. Books are assigned a subject heading, like a tag.
Don't forget--the catalog does not look in the index that is found at the back of print books. If a title looks like it could have your topic, make sure to pull the book to check the index.
The catalog does usually list the table of contents. When you find an interesting title, click on the title, and then click on the link that says "Catalog record" to find out more information, like the table of contents, which lists the chapters, and subject terms. You can click on the subject terms to find other books that have these same headings.
"Use reference books, also called reference or background sources, to get quick specific facts or information or an overview of a subject...Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks. These can be online or in print" ["What are reference books (or reference sources)?", Simon Fraser University Library].
Reference sources can also point to scholarly sources in their list of references or suggested resources for further reading.
Specialized academic and encyclopedic material: find academic articles and definitions. Excellent beginning resource. Find the Career Information Center here!
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.
TheOxford English Dictionary(OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words past and presentfrom across the English-speaking world.
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice - A-H by
The Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice contains over 300 entries alphabetically arranged for straightforward and convenient use by scholars and general readers alike. This reference is a comprehensive and systematic collection of designated entries that describe, in detail, important diversity and social justice themes. Thompson, assisted by a network of contributors and consultants, provides a centralized source and convenient way to discover the modern meaning, richness, and significance of diversity and social justice language, while offering a balanced viewpoint. This book reveals the unique nature of the language of diversity and social justice and makes the connection between how this language influences--negatively and positively--institutions and society. The terms have been carefully chosen in order to present the common usage of words and themes that dominate our daily conversations about these topics. Entries range from original research to synopses of existing scholarship. These discussions provide alternative views to popular doctrines and philosophical truths, and include many of the most popular terms used in current conversations on the topic, from ageism to xenophobia. This reference covers cultural, social, and political vernacular to offer an historical perspective as well. With contributions from experts in various fields, the entries consist of topics that represent a wider context among a diverse community of people from every walk of life.
Archetypes and Motifs in Folklore and Literature by
This is an authoritative presentation and discussion of the most basic thematic elements universally found in folklore and literature. The reference provides a detailed analysis of the most common archetypes or motifs found in the folklore of selected communities around the world. Each entry is written by a noted authority in the field, and includes accompanying reference citations. Entries are keyed to the Motif-Index of Folk Literature by Stith Thompson and grouped according to that Index's scheme. The reference also includes an introductory essay on the concepts of archetypes and motifs and the scholarship associated with them. This is the only book in English on motifs and themes that is completely folklore oriented, deals with motif numbers, and is tied to the Thompson Motif-Index. It includes in-depth examination of such motifs as: Bewitching; Chance and Fate; Choice of Roads; Death or Departure of the Gods; the Double; Ghosts and Other Revenants; the Hero Cycle; Journey to the Otherworld; Magic Invulnerability; Soothsayer; Transformation; Tricksters.
Regarded as the most scholarly of encyclopedias, the Encyclopedia Britannica provides access to hundreds or scholarly articles in multiple categories and subjects.
The first-ever database dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos, the largest, fastest growing minority group in the United States.
Covers American literary history from the 1600s to the present day. TheEncyclopediaincludes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Romeoffers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean worldGreek, Hellenistic, and Romanfrom the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.
Provides critical country-specific intelligence and data through its suite of products to over 4000 clients including public and private sector organizations with overseas operations and global interests.
An online database collection on African American history and culture Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists
The American Indian Experience is an invaluable digital resource that provides in-depth historical accounts and cultural information about the indigenous peoples of North America.
Each weekly report (published 44 times per year) offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of a single topic. The 12,000 word reports provide up-to-date information on a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. 10 year back file.
