Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

What's a Database, Anyway? : Welcome

Spring 2019 Flex Presentation

About this Guide

All presentation materials, including slides, instructions for importing the modules, and activities, can be found on this guide.

libguides.mccd.edu/databases-101

Faculty Reference Librarian

Lindsay Davis's picture
Lindsay Davis
Contact:
My last day of work for Spring 2021 is April 1. Please contact me by email no later than March 30 in order to ensure a reply before I am away. I will return in Fall 2021. I will not be available until my return. Please note that the library faculty have not been on campus since March 2020, so we are not answering the library reference phone number nor our office phones.

Information Literacy Interest Group?

I will email all attendees with a link to today's materials, along with a link to a short survey gauging interest and availability for an information literacy interest group.

Image of the top of a box that says "Information"

Presentation Description

"My professor said I had to use ‘the’ library database. Can you help?” This is a commonly asked reference question, usually stemming from unfamiliarity with databases and / or uncertainty about which database to use when confronted with a list of options.In this session, faculty reference librarian Lindsay Davis will share instructional materials and activities designed to help your students make sense of what databases are and why they are asked to use them, as well as equip them with a strategy for selecting databases for research assignments. The materials and activities include a Canvas module, a database selection activity, and a compare and contrast database activity, all of which can be adapted to fit a variety of disciplines and learning modalities.

Slides