Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

What's a Database, Anyway? : Learning Materials

Spring 2019 Flex Presentation

Adapting & Scaffolding the Materials

The materials can be adapted in a number of ways to fit your class modality and / or specific research assignments.

Please contact me if you need assistance with adapting or scaffolding materials, designing research assignments / activities / curriculum, or scheduling instruction by email at lindsay.davis@mccd.edu or via office phone at 209.384.6086.

Canvas Modules

The Understanding & Finding Databases and the Selecting Databases modules should be assigned in advance of a faculty librarian-facilitated research lesson about exploring databases and basic search strategies. The modules include graded quizzes.

I developed similar modules at UC Merced for a first-year experience research course. My thanks to Sara Davidson Squibb, Head of Research and Learning Services at the UC Merced Library, for sharing the work I did to be able to adapt it for Merced College.

Module Title Student Learning Outcomes Estimated Time to Complete
Understanding & Finding Databases
  • understand how the library provides access to scholarly content.
  • identify how library databases can help you refine your search for information.
  • find databases provided by the Merced College Library.
Appx. 10 mins.
Selecting Databases
  • select relevant databases
Appx. 15 mins.

Possible Flipped Models for Research Instruction

  • Model 1
    • Canvas modules --> Discussion post or spreadsheet activity --> Faculty librarian-facilitated lesson on search strategies and database exploration
  • Model 2
    • Canvas modules --> Faculty librarian-facilitated lesson on search strategies and database exploration
  • Model 3
    • Faculty librarian-facilitated lesson on source types --> Canvas modules --> Discussion post or spreadsheet activity --> Second faculty librarian-facilitated lesson on search strategies and database exploration
  • Model 4
    • Faculty librarian-facilitated lesson on source types --> Canvas modules --> Second faculty librarian-facilitated lesson on search strategies and database exploration
  • Model 5
    • Course instructor-facilitated lesson source types --> Canvas modules --> Discussion post or spreadsheet activity --> Librarian-facilitated lesson on search strategies and database exploration
  • Model 6
    • Course instructor-facilitated lesson source types --> Canvas modules --> Librarian-facilitated lesson on search strategies and database exploration

Database Recommendation Activites

Either activity is a good follow-up to the Selecting Databases Canvas Module or Selecting Databases LibWizard Tutorial. Keep in mind, you may have to adapt either of these to fit your assignment / class modality, etc.

I have used the spreadsheet activity in classes I have taught in the past at UC Merced and a few times at Merced College.

Database Exploration Activities

Either activity can be used during a faculty librarian-faciitated research lesson about exploring databases and practicing search strategies. Students should complete the Canvas modules / LibWizard tutorial a few days before the session to have the required context. These activities can also be adapted to fit your assignment.

I have used the comparison activity in classes I have taught in the past. The worksheet was adapted from work that Sara Davidson Squibb, Head of Research and Learning Services, created at the UC Merced Library.