Over 8,500 online articles from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology 10thedition. 110,000+ definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms.Biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography .The latest news in science and technology from Science News and ScienCentral videos. Continuously updated, fully-searchable, media-rich content, terms, images and videos
Provides full text access toEducation;General Science,Humanities,Readers' Guide,Social Sciences,Wilson Business.Contains the full text from ONLY the journals in selected databases to which Wilson has full text rights:Applied Science & Technology Full Text; Art Full Text; Biological & Agricultural Index Plus; Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text; Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.
Science Full Text Selectprovides full text for more than 400 journals dating as far back as 1994. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.
Covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10-Ks,10-Qsand their exhibits. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily. Research areas in LexisNexis Academic cover top news, general news topics, and news transcripts; non-English language news sources; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; federal case law; U.S. Code; and state legal research.
Use this handout to help you figure out the parts of a journal article record. This will help you when you need to put your works cited page together.
Academic journal articles are reports of an expert's original research, analysis, or review of the research available on a topic. These specialized reports are published in journals, which are publications aimed at professionals and scholars.
In general, journal articles usually have the following parts:
Journals are not always found freely online. As a Merced College student, however, you have free access to academic journals through the library databases.
Some journals are also refeered or peer-reviewed, which means that other experts have double-checked that the work is sound. When searching the library databases, you can limit your results to items that are peer-reviewed.
Because these are professional sources of information, journal articles are not the best resources to use for basic or background information. While experts do use statistics in their reports, if you need specific statistics, there are more direct resources you can use, rather than digging through the databases, that are available for free online or in library reference books.
Below is a link to a tutorial developed by North Carolina State University Libraries that shows which parts make up a journal article, such as the title, author, abstract, introduction, publication information, charts and graphs, conclusion, and references.