Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GUID 54 - Bell: Source Types

This guide is for Dr. Bell's Guidance 54 course .

Use a Variety of Sources

There is no such thing as the "perfect" source.....

Use a variety of sources, such as:

  • Magazines and periodicals

  • Scholarly Books

  • Journals and Peer Reviewed Journal articles

  • Government Reports, websites and statistics

  • Newpapers

Newspapers and Magazines

Journals and Peer Reviewed Articles

Knowledge Test!

Select which article best represents a scholarly PEER REVIEWED article.
Teaching the Immigrant Child: Application of Child Development Theories.: 47 votes (92.16%)
Inquiry Inspires Original Research.: 4 votes (7.84%)
Total Votes: 51

Databases in the EbscoHOST group

Selecting the specific databases to use for your subject is the first step in a successful EBSCO search.  For this class, please choose the following (note: do NOT select all):

  • Academic Search Complete

  • Omni File Complete

  • Master File Complete

  • Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

  • Psyc Info

  • Communications and Mass Media

Once in EBSCO, choose your databases by selecting Choose Databases.

Select and Log in using your Merced College Portal Student.Name and Password

Select from the list of 30+ EBSCO databases 2 ways:

1: From the list of all databases:

  

 

2.  From within an EBSCO database: