LibGuides: NUTR 45 Therapeutic Diets: Background Information

Textbooks on Course Reserve

Cuisine and Culture by Linda Civitello
Call Number: Instructor reserve collection 641.3 CIV 2011
ISBN: 9780470403716
Publication Date: 2011-03-29
An illuminating account of how history shapes our diets--now in a new revised and updated Third Edition
Food and Culture by Pamela Goyan Kittler; Kathryn Sucher
Call Number: Instructor reserve collection 641.3 KIT
ISBN: 9781305628052
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
FOOD AND CULTURE is the market-leading text for the cultural foods courses, providing current information on the health, culture, food, and nutrition habits of the most common ethnic and racial groups living in the United States.

Gale Ebooks (GALE)
Specialized academic and encyclopedic material: find academic articles and definitions. Excellent beginning resource. Find the Career Information Center here!
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO)
Consumer health information on many health topics including medical science, food sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.
Salem Press (Grey House)
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.
Encyclopedia Britannica (Britannica)
Regarded as the most scholarly of encyclopedias, the Encyclopedia Britannica provides access to hundreds or scholarly articles in multiple categories and subjects.

Some encyclopedia entries have individual authors, and some don't; this impacts the way you cite an encyclopedia entry.
If an entry has an author, you can usually find their name either at the beginning or very end of the entry.
Encyclopedias are usually compiled into a book or several volumes by an editor or editors.