"Use reference books, also called reference or background sources, to get quick specific facts or information or an overview of a subject...Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks. These can be online or in print" (McKenzie, 2017).
Reference sources can also point to scholarly sources in their list of references or suggested resources for further reading.
In a print reference source, use the index located at the back of the book to see if there are any pages that discuss your topic. You may have to think about other ways your topic could be worded. For example, if you are looking up environmental justice, you may also need to look up environmental racism. eBooks will also have an index; the index may be searchable, but you can also run a search within the text of the eBook itself. The library also has databases that focus exclusively on reference material.
"5 Reasons to Use Reference Sources" by U of G Library (2:41) is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0.
Trade publications are periodicals that provide general information about a variety of topics within an industry. Trade publications report on trends, important findings, analysis on important industry issues, commentary, and summaries of scholarly work. Trade publications are written by journalists, freelance writers, and content managers. The more reputable the editorial board or author, the more trustworthy the source.
The Economist
Gale Business Insights Handbooks of Social Media Marketing by
The Gale Business Insights Handbook Of Social Media Marketing examines the questions What is social media marketing and How can it be used in my business?| This volume focuses on building an internal business case for using social media, highlighting its importance, the benefits it can provide, and how to implement a successful strategy and measure its effectiveness. Entries examine such topics as the types of social media and their followers; how to increase discoverability; and how to define and protect your brand; legal challenges with social media, and more.|PIM|31-MAY-18|01
CaseBase 2 by
This three-volume set presents entries and primary sources that will impress on readers that what we do--or don't do--today regarding climate change will dramatically influence what life on this planet will be like for untold numbers of generations.How are the behaviors of birds, butterflies, and other migratory animals connected to climate change? What does the term "thermal inertia" mean, and what does this geophysical effect have on predicting what the planet's future will be like? What is the context for the effects we are seeing on various forms of animal life, from migrating birds to polar bears to mosquitoes that transmit Zika and other diseases?Climate Change: An Encyclopedia of Science, Society, and Solutions combines entries describing Earth's variable climatic history, references to scientific literature, weather record data, and selected primary documents to present readers with a comprehensive account of global warming's effects worldwide. By examining verifiable, quantitative information such as the frequency and intensity of hurricanes and changes in the hydrological cycle, as well as clear patterns and trends of alternating droughts and deluges and wildfires, melting ice, and rising seas, readers will be able to understand why scientists are so concerned about the future of our climate. Researchers will benefit from detailed explanations of scientific topics such as thermal inertia, feedbacks, and tipping points; and receive invaluable context on the role of energy use in climate change, including automobiles and air travel. Readers will learn about the role of China in the current global climate and in the future; the widespread effects of climate change on agriculture; and how indigenous peoples' lives are being impacted, from drought and the Navajos to hunters' lives in the Arctic. The work concludes with thought-provoking debates regarding potential solutions, from wind power and solar power to geo-engineering.
Specialized academic and encyclopedic material: find academic articles and definitions. Excellent beginning resource. Find the Career Information Center here!
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.