Find more in OneSearch, the library catalog.
2017 Physicians' Desk Reference by
The Physicians' Desk Reference has been the authoritative source on prescription drugs for 71 years. Found in virtually every physician's office, pharmacy, clinic, and library, no medical reference is more current, more recognized, or more respected. Now in its 71st edition, PDR contains full, FDA-approved drug label information, including warnings and precautions, drug interactions, and hundreds of full-color pill images. Every label in PDR includes information on dosages, side effects, and safety information, such as contraindications, pregnancy ratings, and interactions with other drugs, food, and alcohol. Data on clinical trials are also included.
Lehne's Pharmacology for Nursing Care by
Known for its clear explanations of drug prototypes and how they work, Lehne's Pharmacology for Nursing Care, 9th Edition provides a solid understanding of key drugs and their implications for nursing care. A perennial student favorite, this book simplifies complex concepts, using large and small print to distinguish need-to-know drug content from the material that's merely nice to know. New to this edition are quick-reference summaries of prototype drugs, safety alerts, and a stronger QSEN focus. Written by noted nursing pharmacology instructors Jacqueline Burchum and Laura Rosenthal, this text helps you understand pharmacology as opposed to merely memorizing drug facts. UNIQUE! Engaging writing style with clear explanations makes difficult pharmacology concepts easy to grasp and even enjoyable to learn. Large print highlights essential, need-to-know information, and small print indicates nice-to-know information. A drug prototype approach focuses on one representative drug within each drug family that characterizes all members of its group, so that you can apply your understanding to related drugs currently on the market as well as drugs that will be released in the future. Nursing implications of drug therapy are integrated throughout the text and summarized at the end of chapters, demonstrating the vital relationship between drug therapy and nursing care. Reader-friendly features make learning easier with concise drug summary tables, chapter outlines, key points, and a visual guide to the prototype drugs in each class. Learning resources on an Evolve companion website include video clips, animations, case studies, and NCLEX® exam-style review questions. Coverage of dietary supplements and herbal remedies describes potential dangerous interactions between prescribed and over-the-counter drugs and dietary supplements. NEW! QSEN focus includes Patient-Centered Care Across the Life Span features highlighting safe and appropriate patient care during different phases of life. NEW Safety Alert features emphasize the QSEN competency relating to patient safety. NEW! Prototype Drugs features serve as a quick-reference aid to learning. NEW! Chapter outlines include page numbers to help you locate topics quickly. UPDATED Special Interest Topic boxes use engaging vignettes to focus on emerging and currently trending issues in pharmacology. NEW authors continue Dr. Lehne's clear, unique writing style, with the same accuracy and state-of-the-science updates.
Psychotropic Drugs by
Completely updated, the fourth edition of Psychotropic Drugs presents essential psychopharmacologic information in a comprehensive, user-friendly format. Part One consists of 23 narrative chapters that provide an overview and basic discussion of the biologic bases of psychopharmacology, as well as the uses of psychotropic drugs for specific psychiatric disorders across the lifespan. Part Two contains a series of brief profiles for some of the most common psychotropic drugs, listed by generic name, for access in clinical situations. With information presented in both a comprehensive narrative style and in alphabetical drug profiles, this book can be used both as a textbook and as a handy reference. A two-part organization offers both narrative chapters (Part One) and succinct drug profiles (Part Two), so readers may have a choice of using the book as a textbook or as a reference. Clinical Psychopharmacology overview provides an introduction to psychotropic drugs, including chapters on psychiatric care as related to pharmacologic treatment, and a review of neuroanatomy. Introduction to Psychotropic Drugs includes chapters on psychiatric care as related to pharmacologic treatment, cultural and ethnic factors in psychopharmacology, and a review of neuroanatomy. It reviews neurologic function for those who are a bit "rusty," and challenges those who are more conversant with brain biology. Drugs Used in the Treatment of Mental Disorders focuses on the major categories of drugs used in psychiatric care. Drug Issues Related to Psychopharmacology reviews electroconvulsive therapy, drugs of abuse, central nervous system stimulants, drugs used in alternative and complementary medicine, and drugs used to treat extrapyramidal side effects of psychotropic drugs. Developmental Issues Related to Psychotropic Drugs includes chapters on the psychopharmacologic treatment of children, adolescents, and elderly persons, to reinforce the age-related issues associated with pharmacologic interventions. Psychotropic Drug Profiles features quick, handy profiles for some of the most commonly prescribed psychotropic drugs. Each drug is profiled according to categories such as classification, indications, contraindications, pharmacokinetics, and interactions. Trade names have been expanded and updated. New Culture, ethics, and psychopharmacology chapter calls special attention to ethnic and cultural factors which are imperative to the efficacy and effectiveness of psychopharmacology. New Drugs for depressive disorders chapter provides intensive coverage of drugs used to treat depressive disorders, including side effects, treatment implications, and herbal treatments. New Drugs for bipolar disorders chapter reviews drugs used to treat bipolar disorders, including pharmacokinetics, side effects, and treatment implications. New Drugs used in alternative and complementary medicine chapter presents content on alternative pharmacologic methods utilized by many psychiatric patients worldwide, including the latest herbal and therapeutic methods. New and hot drug coverage includes escitalopram and galantamine.