Find more in OneSearch, the library catalog
Pathophysiology: The Biologic Basis for Disease in Adults and Children by
Well-known for its authoritative and comprehensive coverage, complete treatment of pediatric pathophysiology, and the most extensive illustration program in its field, this textbook features expert content on everything from the general principles of pathophysiology to detailed discussions of genetics and specific diseases. Chapters on alteration present the pathophysiology, clinical manifestations, and evaluation and treatment of each disease to help you learn to identify normal anatomy and physiology, as well as alterations of function in adults and in children. Over 1,200 full-color illustrations and photographs depict the clinical manifestations of disease and disease processes - more than in any other pathophysiology text. A fully updated glossary includes 1,000 terms, and makes lookup easier by grouping together similar topics and terms. Outstanding authors Kathryn McCance and Sue Huether have extensive backgrounds as researchers and instructors, and utilize expert contributors, consultants, and reviewers in developing this edition. Chapter summary reviews provide concise synopses of the main points of each chapter. Consistent presentation of diseases includes pathophysiology, clinical manifestations, and evaluation and treatment. Lifespan content includes ten separate pediatric chapters and special sections with aging and pediatrics content. Algorithms and flowcharts of diseases and disorders make it easy to follow the sequential progression of disease processes. Nutrition and Disease boxes explain the link between concepts of health promotion and disease. EXTENSIVELY Updated content reflects advances in pathophysiology including tumor biology invasion and metastases, the epidemiology of cancer, diabetes mellitus, insulin resistance, thyroid and adrenal gland disorders, female reproductive disorders including benign breast diseases and breast cancer, and a separate chapter on male reproductive disorders and cancer. NEW! Chapter on epigenetics and disease. Additional What's New boxes highlight the most current research and clinical development.
Human Diseases and Conditions by
Provides current, accurate, and comprehensive information on human diseases and conditions. The full-color, four-volume set provides 450 topics covering both common and uncommon infectious diseases, various types of cancer, physical and psychological conditions, tropical diseases, sports injuries, and important public health issues.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by
Includes information on almost 2,000 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
Chronic Diseases: An Encyclopedia of Causes, Effects, and Treatments by
This comprehensive two-volume work provides an overview of an area of growing concern, offering readers a one-stop resource for researching the chronic conditions that increasingly plague our society. Chronic diseases and their consequences are among the foremost problems faced by the U.S. health care system, accounting for untold distress and mounting personal and societal costs. Bringing together an unprecedented array of detailed data and facts, this unique two-volume encyclopedia provides information that will help readers understand what they can do to avoid these diseases, as well as how to best manage chronic conditions that may affect them or their families. Designed for high school, public, and university libraries, this three-volume set covers an extensive range of disorders, including diabetes, cancer, high blood pressure, asthma, heart disease, arthritis, osteoporosis, kidney disease, Alzheimer's disease, HIV/AIDS, and hepatitis. Depression and anxiety are covered, as are violence and injury, drug use and abuse, and tobacco as a health hazard. Much more than just a list of diseases, this encyclopedia enables readers to easily research terminology, symptoms, methods of diagnosis, medical treatments and alternative medicine, risk factors, associated conditions, and preventive approaches. The work is consistent with Healthy People 2010 national goals and objectives and with National Health Education Standards. Presents comprehensive, up-to-date information in an easily accessible style Examines the many facets of researching, diagnosing, and controlling chronic diseases Covers preventive measures such as selecting a nutrition plan, physical activity, vaccinations, and screenings Explores topics within their historical and societal context and in correlation with the standards of health education Brings together the expertise of a wide range of respected professionals
The Gale Encyclopedia of Emerging Diseases by
"The new edition of Gale Encyclopedia of Emerging Diseases (GEED) will be a comprehensive guide and unique source of information on infectious diseases that have either lately appeared for the first time in a population or have recently rapidly increased in incidence. This title is an exciting new addition to the successful Gale Encyclopedia of ... health line of products. The articles avoid medical jargon and use language that laypersons can understand while still providing authoritative, balanced information that addresses the pathogens that are causing and threaten to cause significant health crises. Ebola, Lassa Fever, MERS, Rift Valley Fever, and Zika virus are among the diseases that will be covered"--
Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders by The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by
"The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, 5th Edition is a comprehensive resource containing 1280 entries that aims to educate people about allied health and nursing. Entries follow the standardized, balanced format of all the titles in Gale Encyclopedia of ... line. Entries include sidebars defining Key Terms and listing Questions to Ask Your Provider. This edition includes new entries, updated entries, over 625 color images and illustrations, a medical glossary, an appendix of pertinent organizations, and an index"--