Consumer health information on many health topics including medical science, food sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.
Specialized academic and encyclopedic material: find academic articles and definitions. Excellent beginning resource. Find the Career Information Center here!
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.
Find more print & electronic reference books in the library catalog. The catalog is a list of the library's print books, eBooks, CDs, and DVDs (no articles).
Print reference books stay in the library. You don't check them out, and there is no time limit. You can find them in the bookstacks on the 1st floor of the library behind the Information Desk.
You can access the electronic versions of reference books 24/7 online.
Vitamins and Minerals by
This accessible reference profiles the vitamins and minerals most important to human health, presenting information in an easy-to-use format and summarizing the findings of key research studies. Everyone knows that vitamins and minerals are nonnegotiable components of optimal health. But what exactly do these substances do in the body, and how much of each is needed? What happens if an individual ingests too little or too much of a particular vitamin or mineral? Which foods are the best sources of them, and are dietary supplements a safe alternative? Do certain vitamins and minerals offer protection against certain diseases and medical conditions? Vitamins and Minerals: Fact versus Fiction provides answers to these and many other questions in an accessible format, backed by summaries of key research findings. This book cuts through the confusion and hype that surround the nutrition and supplements industries to offer readers clear guidance founded on solid medical research. A standardized chapter structure and several appendices make the most important information readily available, while introductory essays explore fundamental topics--such as different types of intake recommendations and how they're determined--in greater depth. Utilizes a standardized chapter structure that makes finding specific information fast and simple Summarizes and contextualizes key research findings in easy-to-understand language Provides introductory materials to help readers build a solid foundation of knowledge, including how suggested vitamin and mineral intake amounts are determined and how dietary supplements are regulated Includes appendices that provide at-a-glance information about the best food sources for all vitamins and minerals covered in the book
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition by
The role of nutrition in improving quality of life and combating disease is undeniable -- and researchers from different disciplines are bringing their perspectives to bear on this fundamental topic. The 4-volume Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition, Third Edition, is a thorough revision of the previous award-winning version and reflects the scientific advances in the field of human nutrition. It presents the latest understanding on a wide range of nutrition-related topics including food safety, weight management, vitamins, bioengineering of foods, plant based diet and raw foods among others. New articles on organic food, biofortification, nutritional labeling and the effect of religious customs on diet, among many others, reflect the dedication to currency in this revision. It not only contains the most current and thorough information available on the topic, but also contains broader cross-referencing on emerging opportunities for potential treatment and prevention of diseases. An ideal starting point for scientific research, Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition, Third Edition, continues to provide authoritative information in an accessible format, making this complex discipline available to readers at both the professional and non-professional level.
Nutrition by
This thorough one-stop resource draws on solid science and the latest research to play a dual educational role--providing background for students while answering general readers' questions about a wide range of nutrition-related topics. * Provides accessible essays on today's most relevant nutrition topics * Meets health education goals as represented by high school health education standards * Includes up-to-date scientific information on contemporary issues * Takes a holistic perspective, encompassing the physiological, biochemical, psychological, and societal elements of human nutrition * Suggests interesting "research issues" students may wish to explore and offers ideas for further reading
Salem Health by
Salem Health's newest title, Nutrition, offers researchers a one-stop source for comprehensive, easy-to-understand information on all aspects of human nutrition. This new tool is designed to inform users about healthy eating, the nutritional value of various foods, diets, eating disorders, dietary conditions and so much more.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Food Labels by
"Covers key nutrition and food label topics and terms as well as diseases and global food/nutrition issues"--
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Food Issues by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Food Issues explores the topic of food across multiple disciplines within the social sciences and related areas including business, consumerism, marketing, and environmentalism. In contrast to the existing reference works on the topic of food that tend to fall into the categories of cultural perspectives, this carefully balanced academic encyclopedia focuses on social and policy aspects of food production, safety, regulation, labeling, marketing, distribution, and consumption. A sampling of general topic areas covered includes Agriculture, Labor, Food Processing, Marketing and Advertising, Trade and Distribution, Retail and Shopping, Consumption, Food Ideologies, Food in Popular Media, Food Safety, Environment, Health, Government Policy, and Hunger and Poverty. This encyclopedia introduces students to the fascinating, and at times contentious, and ever-so-vital field involving food issues. Key Features: Contains approximately 500 signed entries concluding with cross-references and suggestions for further readings Organized A-to-Z with a thematic "Reader's Guide" in the front matter grouping related entries by general topic area Provides a Resource Guide and a detailed and comprehensive Index along with robust search-and-browse functionality in the electronic edition This three-volume reference work serves as a general, non-technical resource for students and researchers who seek to better understand the topic of food and the issues surrounding it.
Before you begin looking for scholarly articles, which are specific research studies, you need to find some basic information on your topic using reference sources, such as reference databases, reference websites, or print or electronic encyclopedias. These sources are great for getting the overview of a broad topic. Sometimes reference sources can also point to scholarly articles.
For example, use a reference source if you want to learn about gluten-free diets in general.
Trade Magazines
Trade magazine and periodicals are important publications to communicate important trends, summarize scholarly research and reports, and recognize experts in their field.
Use these resources to guide your understanding and topic selection by browsing or skimming the different topics. Note: these are available on Course Reserve at the Library in print format.