The Child by
The Child: An Encyclopedic Companion offers both parents and professionals access to the best scholarship from all areas of child studies in a remarkable one-volume reference. Bringing together contemporary research on children and childhood from pediatrics, child psychology, childhood studies, education, sociology, history, law, anthropology, and other related areas, The Child contains more than 500 articles--all written by experts in their fields and overseen by a panel of distinguished editors led by anthropologist Richard A. Shweder. Each entry provides a concise and accessible synopsis of the topic at hand. For example, the entry "Adoption" begins with a general definition, followed by a detailed look at adoption in different cultures and at different times, a summary of the associated mental and developmental issues that can arise, and an overview of applicable legal and public policy. While presenting certain universal facts about children's development from birth through adolescence, the entries also address the many worlds of childhood both within the United States and around the globe. They consider the ways that in which race, ethnicity, gender, socioeconomic status, and cultural traditions of child rearing can affect children's experiences of physical and mental health, education, and family. Alongside the topical entries, The Child includes more than forty "Imagining Each Other" essays, which focus on the particular experiences of children in different cultures. In "Work before Play for Yucatec Maya Children," for example, readers learn of the work responsibilities of some modern-day Mexican children, while in "A Hindu Brahman Boy Is Born Again," they witness a coming-of-age ritual in contemporary India. Compiled by some of the most distinguished child development researchers in the world, The Child will broaden the current scope of knowledge on children and childhood. It is an unparalleled resource for parents, social workers, researchers, educators, and others who work with children.
Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2015-2020 by
Learn more about how health nutrition experts can help you make the correct food choices for a healthy lifestyle The eighth edition of the Dietary Guidelines is designed for professionals to help all individuals, ages 2 years-old and above, and their families to consume a healthy, nutritionally adequate diet. The 2015-2020 edition provides five overarching Guidelines that encourage: healthy eating patterns recognize that individuals will need to make shifts in their food and beverage choices to achieve a healthy pattern acknowledge that all segments of our society have a role to play in supporting healthy choices provides a healthy framework in which individuals can enjoy foods that meet their personal, cultural and traditional preferences within their food budget This guidance can help you choose a healthy diet and focus on preventing the diet-related chronic diseases that continue to impact American populations. It is also intended to help you to improve and maintain overall health for disease prevention. **NOTE: This printed edition contains a minor typographical error within the Appendix. The Errata Sheet describing the errors can be found by clickinghere. This same errata sheet can be used for the digital formats of this product available for free. Health professionals, including physicians, nutritionists, dietary counselors, nurses, hospitality meal planners, health policymakers, and beneficiaries of the USDA National School Lunch and School Breakfast program and their administrators may find these guidelines most useful. American consumers can also use this information to help make helathy food choices for themselves and their families.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets by
"Presents information on diet and nutrition, including special diets, popular diets, dietary concerns, nutrition basics, and health-related concerns. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influenced the practice, and any public and regulatory concerns associated with the diet"--
Infant, Toddler, and Child Health Sourcebook by
"Provides basic health information about the physical, mental, and developmental health of infants, toddlers, and children including facts about the diseases and conditions that affect them and tips to bring them up in a healthy way. Includes glossary, index, and other resources"--
Nutrition [2 Volumes] by
This thorough one-stop resource draws on solid science and the latest research to play a dual educational role--providing background for students while answering general readers' questions about a wide range of nutrition-related topics. Nutrition is a popular but often misunderstood topic, one about which there is a great deal of interest as evidenced by the plethora of available advice. Because nutrition is a key factor in health, it is important that the public have a source of information they can trust. This is that source: a comprehensive overview that will help readers make sense of conflicting information they find in the media regarding what is healthy and what is not. Organized alphabetically, the two-volume work covers the most important topics in human nutrition including nutrients, nutrition-related health concerns, aging and nutrition, eating disorders, and the value of dietary supplements. The digestive system and its organs are discussed, with particular attention to health issues such as irritable bowel syndrome and the role of helpful bacteria. The physiology of hunger and the psychology of appetite and eating behaviors are explained. The work also delves into data on foods that have been featured in recent research, such as garlic, ginger, and turmeric, and it offers consumers a clearer understanding of nutrition-related practices such as organic farming, genetically modified foods, and the use of food additives. Provides accessible essays on today's most relevant nutrition topics Meets health education goals as represented by high school health education standards Includes up-to-date scientific information on contemporary issues Takes a holistic perspective, encompassing the physiological, biochemical, psychological, and societal elements of human nutrition Suggests interesting "research issues" students may wish to explore and offers ideas for further reading
EBSCO provides access to your librarys e-book collection.eContentis the digital version of books you can access 24 hours a days, seven days a week.
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.
There are many ways to search for print and eBooks in the catalog. You can put books on hold to be picked up in Merced or Los Banos. eBooks will be listed as belonging in Merced, but any student, staff, or faculty member from either campus can open eBooks and check them out.
The catalog usually lists the table of contents, where you can find the list of chapters. When you find an interesting title, click on the title, and then click on the link that says "Catalog record" to find out more information, like the table of contents, subject terms, etc. You can click on the subject terms to find other books that have these same headings; think of these terms as being like hashtags.
The catalog doesn't look in the index found at the back of most books, so make sure you pull the book off the shelf to check the back for relevant information.