LibGuides: ENGL 13 Gonzalez: Recommended Databases

Library Catalog

OneSearch (ExLibris) This link opens in a new window
Catalog for locating books and Merced College library holdings: all genres including childrens, young adult, fiction, non-fiction, reference and more. Also links to Open Access and library research databases, portal login required.

Reference and eBook Databases

EBSCO eBooks contains both encyclopedias and other types of scholarly books.
Encyclopedia Britannica is one electronic encyclopedia.
Gale eBooks contains content from multiple electronic encyclopedias.
Salem Press is mostly made up of content from multiple electronic encyclopedias but also contains other types of books.
Think of African American Experience, American Indian Experience, Asian American Experience, & Latino American Experience each as individual electronic encyclopedias.

African American Experience (ABC-CLIO)
An online database collection on African American history and culture Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists
American Indian Experience (ABC CLIO)
The American Indian Experience is an invaluable digital resource that provides in-depth historical accounts and cultural information about the indigenous peoples of North America.
Asian American Experience
An online database collection on Asian American history and culture. Developed with the guidance of Asian American librarians and subject specialists
EBSCO eBook Collection
EBSCO provides access to your librarys e-book collection.eContentis the digital version of books you can access 24 hours a days, seven days a week.
Encyclopedia Britannica (Britannica)
Regarded as the most scholarly of encyclopedias, the Encyclopedia Britannica provides access to hundreds or scholarly articles in multiple categories and subjects.
Gale Ebooks (GALE)
Specialized academic and encyclopedic material: find academic articles and definitions. Excellent beginning resource. Find the Career Information Center here!
Latino American Experience (ABC CLIO)
The first-ever database dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos, the largest, fastest growing minority group in the United States.
Salem Press (Grey House)
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.

Article Databases

Most of these databases are provided by the brand EBSCOhost, so while the interfaces of these databases may look largely the same, they don't all provide the exact same content.

Academic One File (Gale)
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including peer-reviewed full text for nearly 3,900 journals.
APA PsycINFO (EBSCO)
The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health developed by the American Psychological Association.Contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries as well as open access full text for more than 4,700 records.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
Comprehensive source of full text for nursing and allied health journals providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL.
Very sophisticated! Pro tip: use the MeSH headings to figure out how the database describes the topic you're looking for, and click from there.
Communications & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Communication, media, linguistics database offering range of journals, reports and magazines, ebooks and anthology, full text searching.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
Curated full-text materials, Ethnic Diversity Source is essential to support the study of African Americans, Arab Americans, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans, Latinx Americans, Multiracial Americans, and Native Americans, among others, with respect to their cultures, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences. Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, historical documents, and biographies are complemented by primary sources, such as speeches and interviews. Complete with robust collections of videos and e-books, Ethnic Diversity Source creates a dynamic research experience for students and researchers.
Ethnic News Watch (ProQuest)
Ethnic News Watch was created in 1991 as a resource to comprehensively cover minority issues in periodical literature and includes global news reports, newswires and news sites.
Follow this link to learn how to use Ethnic News Watch: http://proquest.libguides.com/enw
JSTOR Essential (ITHAKA)
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Ithaka S+R and Portico.
digital library, interdisciplinary, full-text, scholarly, peer-reviewed (for most journal and ebook content)
MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO)
Designed for public libraries, provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications dating back as far as 1975 covering nearly every subject area. Also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,000 primary source documents and over 500,000 images.
Newsbank (Access World News)
Electronic editions of record of newspapers, many in California, for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database-- providingunique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)
Includes more than 700 full text newspapers, providing more than 33 million full text articles and featuring more than 757,000 television and news transcripts.
New York Times (NYT)
With NYTimes.com Passes, you have full access to the extensive breaking news, world news, and multimedia of The New York Times without needing your own subscription. Enjoy full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any device. Once activated from within your participating institution’s network, NYTimes.com Passes can be used from any location until expiration.
First time users will need to create a login using their student email and credentials. Once created you may access the NYTimes content for one year before renewing the Pass.
Nexis Uni (Lexis Nexis)
Covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10-Ks,10-Qsand their exhibits. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily. Research areas in LexisNexis Academic cover top news, general news topics, and news transcripts; non-English language news sources; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; federal case law; U.S. Code; and state legal research.
OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson)
Provides full text access toEducation;General Science,Humanities,Readers' Guide,Social Sciences,Wilson Business.Contains the full text from ONLY the journals in selected databases to which Wilson has full text rights:Applied Science & Technology Full Text; Art Full Text; Biological & Agricultural Index Plus; Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text; Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)
Covers topics related to emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Provides full text access to nearly 400 journals.