Databases are search tools that the library subscribes to in order to provide the campus community access to information that typically isn't found for free on the open web. Since databases are subscriptions paid for by the library, you will need to enter your MCCD email and password to open them. It may be helpful to think of library databases like streaming video platforms that require a subscription.
The library catalog is another type of search tool that provides not only access to most of the library's online content from databases but can also help you find print sources, like physical books.
Learn more about library databases in the following video.
"Databases 101: What is a Library Database?" by Pollak Library eLearning is licensed under CC BY 3.0
The library currently subscribes to 71 databases from a variety of vendors, and these are available in the Explore Databases link on the library website. Some databases are specific to particular subjects, while some are specific to particular types of resources, which is why the library provides a variety of databases.
Learn how to find the library databases and use limiters to select databases by subject area, type of content, and brand in the following video.
"Finding Merced College Library Databases" (4:51) by Lindsay Davis is licensed under CC BY 3.0
Catalog for locating books and Merced College library holdings: all genres including childrens, young adult, fiction, non-fiction, reference and more. Also links to Open Access and library research databases, portal login required.
Pro vs. Con on leading issuesprovides magazine, newspaper and government documents organized by topic.
Redirect page for list of all EBSCO databases: CINAHL, Medline, Newsbank, Academic Search Premiere, Science Direct and Sport Discus are the most popular databases of the 32 that reside here.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Ithaka S+R and Portico.
"Introduction to the New EBSCOhost - Tutorial" (4:37) is by EBSCO Tutorials
EBSCO's new user interface went into effect on September 1, 2024, so it will take some time to develop brand-new tutorial videos. In the meantime, the team at EBSCO has developed a general EBSCO tutorial that will work for most of the library's 36 EBSCO databases.
"