LibGuides: ENGL 01A Mumford: Finding Databases

Suggested Databases

Use this list of suggested databases to help you get started with your research. These are suggestions that will help you find background information and books, as well as scholarly, news, and magazine articles. Depending on your research topic, you may want to find databases related to health, psychology, chemistry, etc.

Find More

To find all of the library's 70+ databases, log into the Portal.
Click the Library tab at the top.
Click on Find Databases, which will take you to the library's Databases A-Z list. You can search for a specific database by name or use the filters to limit the databases by subject area.
Read the database descriptions to determine if the database contains the kind of information you are interested in.

Books & Background Information

OneSearch
OneSearch is a library search tool where you can find almost everything the Merced College Library owns or subscribes to on one platform. You can search for print books, eBooks, online and hardcopy journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.

EBSCO eBook Collection
EBSCO provides access to your librarys e-book collection.eContentis the digital version of books you can access 24 hours a days, seven days a week.
Encyclopedia Britannica (Britannica)
Regarded as the most scholarly of encyclopedias, the Encyclopedia Britannica provides access to hundreds or scholarly articles in multiple categories and subjects.
Gale Ebooks (GALE)
Specialized academic and encyclopedic material: find academic articles and definitions. Excellent beginning resource. Find the Career Information Center here!
Salem Press (Grey House)
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.

Multiple Subjects

Academic One File (Gale)
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including peer-reviewed full text for nearly 3,900 journals.
OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson)
Provides full text access toEducation;General Science,Humanities,Readers' Guide,Social Sciences,Wilson Business.Contains the full text from ONLY the journals in selected databases to which Wilson has full text rights:Applied Science & Technology Full Text; Art Full Text; Biological & Agricultural Index Plus; Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text; Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.

Pro / Con

CQ Researcher (SAGE)
Each weekly report (published 44 times per year) offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of a single topic. The 12,000 word reports provide up-to-date information on a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. 10 year back file.
Opposing Viewpoints (GALE)
Pro/Con Viewpoint essays on hot social issues including 5 million periodical articles, primary source documents and statistical tables, charts and graphs.
SIRS Researcher (PROQUEST)
Pro vs. Con on leading issuesprovides magazine, newspaper and government documents organized by topic.

News

Newsbank (Access World News)
Electronic editions of record of newspapers, many in California, for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database-- providingunique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)
Includes more than 700 full text newspapers, providing more than 33 million full text articles and featuring more than 757,000 television and news transcripts.
Nexis Uni (Lexis Nexis)
Covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10-Ks,10-Qsand their exhibits. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily. Research areas in LexisNexis Academic cover top news, general news topics, and news transcripts; non-English language news sources; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; federal case law; U.S. Code; and state legal research.

Streaming Videos

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street)
ProQuest's Alexander Street products are curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
Films on Demand (Infobase)
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Films Media Group serves the education community through its four brands: Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware.
Films on Demand Feature Films (Infobase)
SERVICE DISRUPTION: Feature Films can only be accessed from campus.

Collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles for educational instructional purposes, including literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, Academy Award winners, and more.
New titles added quarterly. More that 20 popular film genres. Mouse-over effect displays brief description and page tools to save, share and embed links. Filter by MPAA rating, genre and copyright.