Explore the suggestions below. Many databases contain a mixture of sources types, while others may contain one type of source. Read the database descriptions to determine if the database contains the kind of information you are interested in.
Many databases have filters for:
Some databases will also have limiters for language, methodology, geography, etc. The available filters will depend on the specific database.
To find more databases, visit the library's Databases A-Z list. You will need to choose which databases to search in from the list. You can search for a specific database by name in the search box or use the filters to limit the databases by subject area.
Over 8,500 online articles from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology 10thedition. 110,000+ definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms.Biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography .The latest news in science and technology from Science News and ScienCentral videos. Continuously updated, fully-searchable, media-rich content, terms, images and videos
EBSCO provides access to your librarys e-book collection.eContentis the digital version of books you can access 24 hours a days, seven days a week.
Specialized academic and encyclopedic material: find academic articles and definitions. Excellent beginning resource. Find the Career Information Center here!
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive.
Multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including peer-reviewed full text for nearly 3,900 journals.
Ethnic News Watch was created in 1991 as a resource to comprehensively cover minority issues in periodical literature and includes global news reports, newswires and news sites.
Provides full text access toEducation;General Science,Humanities,Readers' Guide,Social Sciences,Wilson Business.Contains the full text from ONLY the journals in selected databases to which Wilson has full text rights:Applied Science & Technology Full Text; Art Full Text; Biological & Agricultural Index Plus; Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text; Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.
Each weekly report (published 44 times per year) offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of a single topic. The 12,000 word reports provide up-to-date information on a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. 10 year back file.
Pro vs. Con on leading issuesprovides magazine, newspaper and government documents organized by topic.
America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Electronic editions of record of newspapers, many in California, for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database-- providingunique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.
Covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10-Ks,10-Qsand their exhibits. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily. Research areas in LexisNexis Academic cover top news, general news topics, and news transcripts; non-English language news sources; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; federal case law; U.S. Code; and state legal research.
With NYTimes.com Passes, you have full access to the extensive breaking news, world news, and multimedia of The New York Times without needing your own subscription. Enjoy full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any device. Once activated from within your participating institution’s network, NYTimes.com Passes can be used from any location until expiration.