Articles are classified depending on frequency of publication (hence, the name "period-ical"), purpose and audience.
Peer-reviewed journals may apply scientific methodology to conducting, analyzing and communicating findings, or within literature or humanities criticize and analyze based upon a theory or method.
A magazine is less formal but, depending on the target audience, the purpose may be to entertain or quickly discuss important trends in a field of study/practice. Grey literature can be a less formal but important method of recorded communication, like a dissertation, conference proceeding, pamphlet, symposium, speech, white paper, policy, and more. Evaluate your sources foremost by the author, publisher, and editor, to ascertain the intent and purpose of the report, article or study.
Covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10-Ks,10-Qsand their exhibits. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily. Research areas in LexisNexis Academic cover top news, general news topics, and news transcripts; non-English language news sources; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; federal case law; U.S. Code; and state legal research.
Electronic editions of record of newspapers, many in California, for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database-- providingunique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.
Ethnic News Watch was created in 1991 as a resource to comprehensively cover minority issues in periodical literature and includes global news reports, newswires and news sites.
With NYTimes.com Passes, you have full access to the extensive breaking news, world news, and multimedia of The New York Times without needing your own subscription. Enjoy full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any device. Once activated from within your participating institution’s network, NYTimes.com Passes can be used from any location until expiration.
Redirect page for list of all EBSCO databases: CINAHL, Medline, Newsbank, Academic Search Premiere, Science Direct and Sport Discus are the most popular databases of the 32 that reside here.
Select and Log in using your Merced College Portal Student.Name and Password
Select from the list of 30+ EBSCO databases 2 ways:
1: From the list of all databases:
2. From within an EBSCO database:
Each weekly report (published 44 times per year) offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of a single topic. The 12,000 word reports provide up-to-date information on a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. 10 year back file.
Pro vs. Con on leading issuesprovides magazine, newspaper and government documents organized by topic.
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive.
Consumer health information on many health topics including medical science, food sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.