Skip to Main Content

NUTR 12 : Journals & Magazine Articles

Nutrition

Identify and Evaluate Credible Sources

Identify and Evaluate Credible Sources

Evaluating information is a valuable, applicable skill that demands you use all the tools in the toolbox. 

  • Wikipedia or open internet to search the publication name: history, editorial board, how long established, what associations or organizations support its publication; allows you to FACT CHECK your sources.
  • Read for context to understand how the authors use and apply their data
  • Citation mining is a valuable skill: skim the References or Works Cited and evaluate or loop up the sources the author's used: are those sources high quality or relevant.
  • Search using "phrase searching", Boolean operators, and keyword concepts.

Recommended Article Databases

Today's Dietician Reserve

 

Today's Dietician is a trade magazine that provides articles written by expert Nutritionist and Dietician.  The magazine is available either in print copy or through the Merced College databases.  Both may be accessed through OneSearch (the college catalog) or electronically searched below. 

Scholarly, Popular, & Trade Article Examples

Criteria Scholarly Journal Trade Magazine Popular Magazine
Sample Cover Cover of Sensors Feb 2019 Issue 4 Cover of Computers in Libraries Sept 2019 issue Cover of the Dec 2018 issue of Scientific American
Sample Article

Positioning, Navigation, and Book Accessing/Returning in an Autonomous Library Robot using Integrated Binocular Vision and QR Code Identification Systems

Log into the Portal to view

How to Bring AI into Your Library

Log into the Portal to view

Top 10 Emerging Technologies of 2018

Log into the Portal to view
Audience Academics and professionals People in the business General public
Authors Experts or specialists. Unpaid. Staff writers, industry specialists, or vendor representatives. Paid. Journalists, staff writers, or freelance writers. Paid.
Editorial Review Journal editorial board and peer reviewers. Unpaid. Professional Editors. Paid. Professional Editors. Paid.
References / Works Cited Almost always Sometimes Rarely

Modeled after NCSU Libraries "Scholarly & Popular Materials" tutorial.

CRAAP Test

Boolean Operators Refine Your Search Terms

Boolean Operators

AND will add concepts

  • culture AND cuisine 
  • Japan AND cuisine

OR will broaden your search

  • Japan AND ramen OR noodles
  • food OR cuisine AND Japan
    • by adding "OR" you are capturing both keywords that are similar but different

Knowledge Check

Which article best represents a trade magazine article?
Hawthorn Seed Oil: 4 votes (50%)
Flexitarian Diet: 4 votes (50%)
Total Votes: 8

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article: Interactive Tutorial

Article Database Tutorials

Academic Search Complete, MasterFILE Complete, and OmniFile Full Text Select are databases provided by EBSCOhost. They have very similar interfaces and functionality but provide access to different content. This EBSCOhost video tutorial will give you the basics for using any EBSCOhost-provided database.

"EBSCOhost Advance Search Tutorial" (2:12) by EBSCO Tutorials

"Gale Academic OneFile Database Search" by Sandburg Library is licensed under CC-BY.