This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
Use scholarly information as evidence to support a claim, build knowledge about your topic, and propose a thesis.
TIP ABOUT CITATION MINING: The end of all scholarly articles include lists of citations ("Works Cited" or "References") the author(s) used to conduct their research. Scan, then search these sources using "phrase searching" in OneSearch or Google Scholar in your own scholarly inquiry. Do this especially if the source was important to your understanding.
TIP FOR SEARCHING: Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT) or "phrase searching" by combining single terms, keywords and vocabulary. Natural language works less well, though you may find results, precision searching using operators works best.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Ithaka S+R and Portico.
Redirect page for list of all EBSCO databases: CINAHL, Medline, Newsbank, Academic Search Premiere, Science Direct and Sport Discus are the most popular databases of the 32 that reside here.
Catalog for locating books and Merced College library holdings: all genres including childrens, young adult, fiction, non-fiction, reference and more. Also links to Open Access and library research databases, portal login required.
Locate definitions, vocabulary, keywords and important concepts to help understanding complex issues and topics.
Specialized academic and encyclopedic material: find academic articles and definitions. Excellent beginning resource. Find the Career Information Center here!
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.
An online database collection on Asian American history and culture. Developed with the guidance of Asian American librarians and subject specialists
The first-ever database dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos, the largest, fastest growing minority group in the United States.
An online database collection on African American history and culture Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Political Behavior by 
Encyclopedia of Modern Political Thought (set) by Critical aggregate databases that suggest a variety of information and group them by topic. Browse by topic or enter search keywords.
Each weekly report (published 44 times per year) offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of a single topic. The 12,000 word reports provide up-to-date information on a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. 10 year back file.
Pro vs. Con on leading issuesprovides magazine, newspaper and government documents organized by topic.