Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Content Overview: Home

This guide provides a summary of database publication and document types such as journal articles, encyclopedia articles, videos and electronic books.

Using the AND Operator to Increase Retrieval of Information with More Specific Topics

Database Information Resources

 

This list provides a general summary of four levels of information types and applicable resources.

 

1.  Topic overview

source: general encyclopedias

example: a short article on the metal, aluminum can be found in the Britannica Academic encyclopedia database.

 

2.  Detailed topic information

source: subject encyclopedias

example: a detailed article on greenhouse gases can be found in the electronic book: Encyclopedia of Energy.  This is located in the Salem Press database.

 

3.  Super detailed research information that can be very up-to-date or from the past

source: journal articles.

example title: Vehicle Velocity and Roll Angle Estimation with Road and Friction Adaptation for Four-Wheel Independent Drive Electric Vehicle from a journal called: Mathematical Problems in Engineering which is located in the database called: Academic Search Complete.

 

4.  Topic with a broad overview and in depth discussion

source: an entire electronic book (ebook) about the subject.

example: an electronic book covering many details of 1940s history in the United States can be found in the electronic book: The 1940s in America which is located in the database: Salem Press.

.     .     .     .     .     .     .     .     .     .     .     .     .     .     .     .     .     .     .     .     .     .     .     .     .     .     

Subject Terms Ascribed to an Information Resource

    

Databases with Videos on Hundreds of Topics

 

Academic Video Online (AVON)

Films on Demand

Films on Demand Feature Films for Education

Films on Demand Newsreels and Archives Collection

Librarian

Profile Photo
Wayne Altenberg
Contact:
Merced College
Los Banos Campus Library
22240 Highway 152
Los Banos, CA 93635
Reference Desk: 209-381-6434 Office: (209) 381-6431