An example might be Chemistry of Lipstick and the following articles can be used for background information.
Over 8,500 online articles from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology 10thedition. 110,000+ definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms.Biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography .The latest news in science and technology from Science News and ScienCentral videos. Continuously updated, fully-searchable, media-rich content, terms, images and videos
Regarded as the most scholarly of encyclopedias, the Encyclopedia Britannica provides access to hundreds or scholarly articles in multiple categories and subjects.
The Praeger Handbook of Environmental Health by
Written by internationally acclaimed experts in the United States and abroad, this comprehensive set of environmental health articles serves to clarify our impending challenges as well as opportunities for health and wellness. * 100 entries organized according to key topic areas in environmental health * Contributions from more than 150 environmental health experts from U.S. and international settings * Figures and graphs support the main points of each article * Dozens of literature citations within each article
Complete Crime Scene Investigation Handbook by
Crime scene investigators are the foundation for every criminal investigation. The admissibility and persuasiveness of evidence in court, and in turn, the success of a case, is largely dependent upon the evidence being properly collected, recorded, and handled for future analysis by investigators and forensic analysts in the lab. Complete Crime Scene Investigation Handbook is the most complete, one-stop practical reference for law enforcement and crime scene professionals as well as students looking to enter the field. The book provides step-by-step methods and best practice protocols for effectively finding, recognizing, recording, collecting, preserving, handling, and packaging evidence. With more than 650 full color photos and illustrations the book covers: The investigative team and its responsibilities The rules for forensic search and seizure Proper documentation of evidence via note-taking, photography, and sketching Search patterns and the special considerations for various searches The use of alternative light sources Presumptive tests via luminol and other methods Latent fingerprint processing Evidence collection and packaging Serological, trace, firearms, toolmark, footwear, tire, and digital evidence Injury documentation Appendices with a full compliment of sample forms, equipment lists, and checklists to assist in crime scene investigation A special considerations section reviews topics such as shooting scene and bloodstain documentation, clandestine graves and scattered human remains, fire scenes, and questioned document evidence. The final chapters examine how to develop a working plan and processing methodology as well as effective report writing. This book is a must-have reference for experienced forensic, crime scene, and investigative professionals as well as students in forensic science programs looking to enter the field. A specially developed companion lab exercise workbook--The Complete Crime Scene Investigation Workbook (ISBN: 978-1-4987-0142-6)--is also available for purchase and can be used in conjunction with this handbook, both for group training purposes or for individuals looking for hands-on self-study.
Trash Talk by
This fascinating reference offers a unique take on recycling and trash, tracing the role of waste in public health, climate change, and sustainability around the world. * Includes comparisons of the waste, public health, and emissions profile for many countries * Provides a general introduction to the issue of global waste management * Reveals the various methods of disposal across the world * Features charts, graphs, and tables that present facts and figures to illustrate key statistics * Shares interesting facts and accounts of garbage disposal problems
Encyclopedia of Science and Technology by
Special Introductory Price: $3200. Offer ends September 7, 2012. From acoustics to zoology, the bestselling, authoritative encyclopedia that brings the latest in science and technology to students. Celebrating more than 50 years of bringing knowledge to readers at all levels of study, the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 11th Edition provides need-to-know information in the major disciplines of science and technology. All entries are commissioned from leading authorities in their fields; each is technically reviewed, signed, edited, illustrated, and produced to the highest standards for ease of access and comprehension. The text is accompanied by 13,000 two-color illustrations and 100 full-color plates throughout. A dedicated index volume provides you with easy access to information through subject and author indexes and study and topical guides. McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 11th Edition is a major revision, with 2,500 new and thoroughly revised entries, and updates on more than 7,000 entries. Coverage spans the hottest fields of science and technology, including: Cell, developmental, and molecular biology, with articles on stem cell technology, new insights into RNA functions Chemistry, including updates on the newest elements and analytical technology Climate science and meteorology, with full background on climate change research Cloud computing, data warehousing, computer security among many other areas of information technology Cosmology, including coverage of dark matter, dark energy, and advances in the study of the age and shape of the universe Environmental science, with the latest on environmental conservation, and novel energy sources Engineering--civil, chemical, electrical, environmental, mechanical, metallurgical, and other areas extensively updated Genetics Neuroscience Plant sciences and agriculture Zoology "No one has been able to duplicate this essential reference work. It is the recommended multivolume encyclopedia for science and technology and should be in most high school, public, academic, and appropriate special libraries." -Booklist Author Information More than 5,000 leading international scientists and engineers, including numerous Nobel Prize laureates, have contributed to this edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. All articles are invited upon recommendation by our distinguished board of consulting editors.
Chemical Elements by
Describes the structure, chemical properties, common compounds, and practical uses for each element.
30-Second Elements by 
The Elements Book by
2019 is the 150th anniversary of the periodic table, and this visual guide for children shows and explains every chemical element in dazzling detail. Kids can go on a visual tour of the 118 chemical elements of the periodic table, from argon to zinc, in this one awesome volume packed with incredible images and fascinating facts. Cataloged by type, each element's properties and atomic structure is explained. More than 1,000 full-color photographs showcase the natural forms of each element, as well as a wide range of unexpected everyday objects in which it is found, to make them relevant to a child's world. How does a motorcycle utilize nitrogen? Which element can absorb harmful chemicals in water? Which famous landmark is made of copper? From hydrogen to sodium to nickel, kids will learn fun facts and be amazed. Supporting STEM education initiatives and designed in DK's signature visual style, The Elements Book brings the periodic table to life.
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition by
The role of nutrition in improving quality of life and combating disease is undeniable -- and researchers from different disciplines are bringing their perspectives to bear on this fundamental topic. The 4-volume Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition, Third Edition, is a thorough revision of the previous award-winning version and reflects the scientific advances in the field of human nutrition. It presents the latest understanding on a wide range of nutrition-related topics including food safety, weight management, vitamins, bioengineering of foods, plant based diet and raw foods among others. New articles on organic food, biofortification, nutritional labeling and the effect of religious customs on diet, among many others, reflect the dedication to currency in this revision. It not only contains the most current and thorough information available on the topic, but also contains broader cross-referencing on emerging opportunities for potential treatment and prevention of diseases. An ideal starting point for scientific research, Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition, Third Edition, continues to provide authoritative information in an accessible format, making this complex discipline available to readers at both the professional and non-professional level.
Chemistry of Spices by
Spices are high value, export-oriented crops used extensively in food and beverage flavourings, medicines, cosmetics and perfumes. Interest is growing however in the theoretical and practical aspects of the biosynthetic mechanisms of active components in spices as well as the relationship between the biological activity and chemical structure of these secondary metabolites. A wide variety of phenolic substances and amides derived from spices have been found to possess potent chemopreventive, anti-mutagenic, anti-oxidant and anti-carcinogenic properties. Representing the first discussion of the chemical properties of a wide cross section of important spices, this book covers extensively the three broad categories of plant-derived natural products: the terpenoids, the alkaloids and the phenyl propanoids and allied phenolic compounds. Spice crops such as black pepper, ginger, turmeric and coriander are covered with information on botany, composition, uses, chemistry, international specifications and the properties of a broad range of common and uncommon spices.