It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for the library's print books, eBooks, online and hardcopy journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.
Check these out from the Merced College Libraries
Luxe Knits by Laura ZukaiteMore luxury for the knitter! Laura Zukaite's fantastic follow-up to Luxe Knits presents an array of accessories, all created in the most sumptuous yarns on the market. These stunning scarves, hats, gloves, bags, and more are what Zukaite calls "memorable little statement pieces to decorate our lives,” and they're a pleasure to knit. High-fashion photography, the author's own sketches, and styling suggestions round out this beautiful package.
Call Number: 746.432 Zuk
Publication Date: 2010
Quick and Clever Handmade Cards by Julie HickeyA gorgeous array of handmade cards to suit all ages and occasions. Create a variety of eye-catching cards for every celebration with a range of clever papercraft techniques. Cardmaking techniques - Clear illustrated instructions guide you through each technique, from decoupage and paper weaving to working with shrink plastic, vellum and acetate. Use peel-off stickers, rubber stamps, punches and embellishments to make professional-looking cards for birthdays, anniversaries, weddings, Christmas and more! Design inspiration - Learn how to create 16 unique cards with two variation ideas for every design. There's also an 8-page gallery with even more inspiration and a handy list of sentiments to suit every occasion. Plus there are handy tips for positioning elements to create the best layout and choosing suitable colour schemes for your occasion. Selling handmade cards - Includes useful information on how to sell handmade cards and shows you how to make envelopes, inserts and large quantities in bulk. Use printed labels for a professional finish and get tips on selling to shops and marketing your cards.
Easy Origami by Didier Boursin24 simple, easy-to-follow projects for beginners to the art of origami. The ancient art of origami continues to fascinate young and old alike. More than a method of artistic expression, it provides an opportunity for reflection and relaxation. Easy Origami takes beginners step-by-step through the process of creating 24 simple yet interesting projects. Children, teens and adults will construct a hamster, a butterfly, an airplane, a house, a garland, a star cluster and more. The book begins with general tips on getting started and obtaining the best results. Easy-to-follow directions are included for all the basic folds. The projects are then organized by level of capability. Easy Origami is the perfect introduction to this popular craft. Beginners of all ages will have fun folding and unfolding as they discover a magical world of paper creations.
Call Number: 736.895 Bou
Publication Date: 2005
Barbara Randle's Crazy Quilting with Attitude by Barbara RandleIf you're searching for a fresh approach to the age-old art of crazy quilting, look no further than "Barbara Randle's Crazy Quilting with Attitude." Here are throw pillows, lampshades, purses, scarves - lots of artsy projects your great grandmother could never have imagined Included are chapters on traditional crazy quilting techniques, how to choose and mix colors, and some embellishment ideas that will take your creations over the top.Over 12 fun and fast crazy quilting projects to makeClear, easy step-by-step directions and abundant photographsGreat tips on color combinations and glitzy, gorgeous embellishments
Call Number: 746.46 Ran
Publication Date: 2003
Alchemy Arts by Kate MacKay; Di Jennings (Photographer)Alchemy Arts is a community-based arts project in Edinburgh that collects scrap from businesses and households and uses it to create artworks, workshops, and parades in the city. This book takes their philosophy one stage further and offers projects in fashion, home design, and crafts for individuals to make or adapt themselves. Includes ingenious uses for packs of old playing cards (a top hat for fancy dress), old ties stitched into dresses, and many more ideas and suggestions. With the inclusion of American crafters' projects as well as those from the United Kingdom, this is likely to be a popular addition to the growing collection of books available for crafters.
Call Number: 745.5 Mac
Publication Date: 2010
365 Easy Projects for Every Occasion by Meredith Press Staff (Contribution by); Carol Dahlstrom (Editor)Let your talents shine by creating wonderful projects to celebrate special moments and holidays throughout the year No matter what your crafting experience or skill level, you can master every project in this book with confidence. When you only have moments to spare choose one of the Good Ideas projects. They are quick and easy, and will get lots of compliments. Set an evening aside to create a gift or decoration from your Make It In Minutes selection. The projects are so much fun, you will want to make them by the dozens Try something new by learning a technique like etching, decoupage, or tiling. These step-by-step projects include helpful photographs to guide you.
Call Number: 745.594
Publication Date: 2000
Martha Stewart's Encyclopedia of Crafts by Martha Stewart Living MagazineFor nearly 20 years, home crafters have turned to the pages of Martha Stewart Living for all kinds of crafts projects, each presented in the magazine's inimitable style. Now, the best of those projects, including step-by-step instructions and full-color photographs, have been collected into a single encyclopedia. Organized by topic from A to Z, Martha Stewart's Encyclopedia of Crafts contains complete instructions and brief histories for more than 30 techniques, detailed descriptions of the necessary tools and materials, and easy-to-copy templates. Martha and her team of crafts editors guide readers through each subject, from botanical pressing and decoupage to rubber stamping and wreaths, with characteristic clarity and unparalleled attention to detail. Crafters of all skill and experience levels will appreciate the many variations presented for each technique. For example, candlemaking presents a comprehensive array of poured, rolled, and cutout candles, including instructions for making your own one-of-a-kind rubber candle molds, floating candles, sand candles, and more. Each craft in the book takes on charming new dimensions with innovations that could come only from the team behind Martha Stewart Living. In addition, each entry in Martha Stewart's Encyclopedia of Crafts is chock-full of tips and advice. Handy glossaries in the entries-such as a comprehensive gem glossary, a glitter glossary, and a color glossary for making tinted wax-are valuable references that crafters will refer to again and again. What's more, the Tools and Materials section outlines the best essential supplies that every crafter needs to have on hand, and the Sources pages clue readers in to the vendors and suppliers that the magazine's crafts editors rely on most. Filled with solid technical know-how, and presented with gorgeous color photographs, this handy guide can be read page by page and kept as a lasting reference by crafters and artisans alike.