LibGuides: Using Films on Demand & Academic Video Online for Teaching: Films on Demand & Films on Demand: Newsreels and Archives

Access the Databases

Films on Demand (Infobase)
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Films Media Group serves the education community through its four brands: Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware.
Films on Demand Newsreels and Archives (Infobase)
Educators count on Cambridge to provide outstanding media resources that support the development of the whole student, both in and out of the classroom. Cambridge programs provide a practical, accurate, and reliable foundation of knowledge that helps students think through opportunities and choices and reach their potential at school, in work, and in life.

The following video shares instructions for searching for content in Films on Demand (FOD), which work for the broader FOD database and the Newsreels and Archives iteration of FOD.
This video also shares how to email a video, generate the permalink of a video, and generate the embed code for a video directly from FOD, which works for both FOD and FOD Newsreels and Archives.

While you can generate the embed code for a video directly within the FOD and FOD Newsreels and Archives databases for use in Canvas, you can also quicky search for and embed content directly in Canvas by using the Films on Demand LTI in the Rich Text Editor
- Think of the LTI like an app version of the database
The following video shares how to find and embed FOD videos without leaving Canvas using the "app."
- There may be slight differences in the FOD logo since this video was recorded a few years ago.