LibGuides: STEM: STEM

What is STEM

Interested in a Career in STEM?

Interested in not just a job but a career? Check out these resources.

Stem Career
While this site is a blog that may appear to be K-12 oriented, the links at the bottom provide access to degree ideas, career, planning, explanations of what kinds of jobs are available in STEM as well as links to job sites.
O*NET online
O*NET is a jobs site but this link provides job titles, education requirements, employment outlook, and a list of job types within those occupations. It's a great place to explore your future career.

STEM: What is it and why is it important

The Superpowers of STEM

Women in STEM

SoapBox Science Blog
Soapbox Science is a novel public outreach platform for promoting women scientists and the science they do. Our events transform public areas into an arena for public learning and scientific debate; they follow the format of London Hyde Park’s Speaker’s Corner, which is historically an arena for public debate. With Soapbox Science, we want to make sure that everyone has the opportunity to enjoy, learn from, heckle, question, probe, interact with and be inspired by some of our leading scientists. No middle man, no PowerPoint slide, no amphitheatre – just remarkable women in science who are there to amaze you with their latest discoveries, and to answer the science questions you have been burning to ask.
The Untold History of Women in STEM
Listen to women from across the Administration tell the stories of their personal heroes across the fields of science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM). Share them yourself. Add your own. And honor their legacy by committing to encourage a young woman to pursue a career in science
Maryville University Women of Color in STEM Blog
This blog by Maryville University has a reading list at the end. It is geared toward women of color who want to work in STEM.

STEM Databases for Journal and Magazine Articles

The following is the list of STEM-related databases available to Merced college students, faculty, and staff.

Access Science (McGraw Hill)
Over 8,500 online articles from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology 10thedition. 110,000+ definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms.Biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography .The latest news in science and technology from Science News and ScienCentral videos. Continuously updated, fully-searchable, media-rich content, terms, images and videos
Films on Demand (Infobase)
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Films Media Group serves the education community through its four brands: Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware.
GreenFILE (EBSCO)
Well researched information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment including scholarly, governmental, and general interest titles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Science Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson)
Science Full Text Selectprovides full text for more than 400 journals dating as far back as 1994. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.

STEM Print Magazines

The following is the list of print magazines related to STEM that are available to Merced College students, faculty, and staff. Some of these may be accessed through their own websites. We have access to many, many more in the Merced College databases.

The publication websites are linked below for indexing but full access to these resources is through either our print or online collections.

BioScience

Chemical and Engineering News

STEM Websites

This list of links provides educational resources, both paid and OER as well as a science advocacy site.

AMSER
AMSER is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use.
ATE
With an emphasis on two-year colleges, the National Science Foundation's ATE (Advanced Technological Education) program focuses on the education of technicians for the high-technology fields that drive our nation's economy.
Internet Scout Report
Located on the University of Wisconsin-Madison's campus, and part of the Computer Science Department in the University's College of Letters and Sciences, Scout has access to highly educated content specialists and a world-class array of computer science and library resources. Our eclectic staff blends academics and professionals from Library Science and Computer Science, along with graduate and undergraduate students studying the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Library of Congress, Selected Resources in Science and Technology
Selected Internet Resources in Science and Technology collected and moderated by the Library of Congress.
National Science Digital Library
The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines—both formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings. Most resources in the library adhere to principles of Open Educational Resource (OER) access, although some resources are restricted to provider site membership, or may have a cost associated with them (indicated in the full record of the resource).
Stem Education Coalition
The STEM Education Coalition’s mission is to raise awareness amongst policymakers at every level about the critical role that science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education plays in enabling the U.S. to remain the economic and technological leader of the global marketplace of the 21st century. The Coalition believes that our nation must improve the way our students learn STEM and that the business, education, and STEM communities must work together to achieve this goal.

People of Color (POC) in STEM

People of Color (POC) in STEM Research Guide
Racial and ethnic minorities are underrepresented in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) fields in the United States. This library guide seeks to center the voices and lived experiences of people of color (POC) in STEM. Specifically, we are featuring historical, biographical, and autobiographical texts; community-building media; and scientific society resources. In addition, we also highlight critical literature on the factors that contribute to demographic disparities in STEM.

This Guide is by the Tri-College Librarians (Bryn Mawr, Haverford, Swarthmore). Some of their resources may not be available in our collection. Please let us find them for you via Interlibrary Loan!
11 Professional Organizations that support People of Color in STEM
This is a list designed primarily for employers but lists 11 organizations that support POC in STEM.
Science, technology, engineering, and math fields are crucial to keeping our world functioning. They’re the basis for developing life-saving drugs and treatments, developing the software programs we depend on every day, solving environmental problems, and much more.

STEM: STEM

STEM at Merced College