"Use reference books, also called reference or background sources, to get quick specific facts or information or an overview of a subject...Some examples of reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, atlases, and handbooks. These can be online or in print" (McKenzie, 2017).
Catalog for locating books and Merced College library holdings: all genres including childrens, young adult, fiction, non-fiction, reference and more. Also links to Open Access and library research databases, portal login required.
Over 8,500 online articles from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology 10thedition. 110,000+ definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms.Biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography .The latest news in science and technology from Science News and ScienCentral videos. Continuously updated, fully-searchable, media-rich content, terms, images and videos
Specialized academic and encyclopedic material: find academic articles and definitions. Excellent beginning resource. Find the Career Information Center here!
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.
Instructor Reserves are textbooks that don't leave the library but can be used for up to two hours in-house. You can find more radiology reference books through OneSearch, the library catalog.
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions by
Make sense of the complex world of health care with Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions, 10th Edition! This one-stop reference includes detailed entries that help you communicate more effectively with colleagues in various disciplines. With over 56,000 definitions, 2,450 photographs and line drawings, and supporting reference appendixes and atlases, it is an indispensable reference for students and professionals alike. Over 56,000 entries offer detailed definitions, as well as the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions, and nursing care. More than 2,450 color photographs and line drawings demonstrate and explain complex conditions and abstract concepts. Strict, common-sense alphabetical organization makes it easy to find key terms and definitions. Detailed appendixes provide you with useful information on lab values, symbols and abbreviations, pharmacology, infection control standards, and more that can be used throughout your health career. NEW! Approximately 5,000 new and revised definitions reflect the latest developments in health care, drugs, and nursing terminology. NEW! Completely updated illustrations visually clarify key definitions to reflect current healthcare practice and equipment.
Comprehensive Radiographic Pathology by
Gain the essential pathology understanding you need to produce quality radiographic images! Covering the disease processes most frequently diagnosed with medical imaging, Comprehensive Radiographic Pathology, 6th Edition is the perfect pathology resource for acquiring a better understanding of the clinical manifestation of different disease processes, their radiographic appearances, and their treatments. This full-color reference begins with a general overview of physiology, then covers disorders and injuries by body system. The new edition also includes the latest information on CT, MRI, SPECT, PET, ultrasound, and nuclear medicine - including updated radiographer notes, images, and review questions. Thorough explanations and comprehensive coverage aid readers' understanding of disease processes and their radiographic appearance. Numerous high-quality illustrations covering all modalities clearly demonstrate the clinical manifestations of different disease processes and provide readers with a standard for the high-quality images needed in radiography practice. Discussion of specialized imaging explains how supplemental modalities, such as ultrasound, computed tomography, magnetic resonance imaging, nuclear medicine, single-photon emission computed tomography (SPECT), and positron emission tomography (PET) are sometimes needed to diagnose various pathologies. Treatment coverage provides readers with brief explanations of the most likely treatments and the prognosis for each pathology. Systems-based approach organizes the pathology of various body systems in separate chapters - each chapter provides an initial discussion of general physiology and then explains various pathologic conditions and their radiographic appearance and treatment. Summary Findings tables are a great quick reference guide for practitioners. Consistent organization aids readers in searching for information. Study aids include an outline, key terms, objectives, and review questions for every chapter. Useful appendices include an extensive glossary; a list of major prefixes, roots, and suffixes with definitions and examples; and a table of diagnostic implications of abnormal lab values. NEW! Updated images in all modalities keep readers abreast on the latest advances needed for clinical success. NEW! Updated chapter review questions have been added to the end of every chapter. NEW! Additional review questions on Evolve companion site provide students with extra resources to prepare for certification. NEW! Updated radiographer notes incorporate current digital imaging information for both computed radiography and direct digital capture.
Radiographic Positioning and Procedures by
With more than 400 projections, Merrill's Atlas of Radiographic Positioning & Procedures, 14th Edition makes it easier to for you to learn anatomy, properly position the patient, set exposures, and take high-quality radiographs. This definitive text has been reorganized to align with the ASRT curriculum - helping you develop the skills to produce clear radiographic images. It separates anatomy and positioning information by bone groups or organ systems - using full-color illustrations to show anatomical anatomy, and CT scans and MRI images to help in learning cross-section anatomy. Merrill's Atlas is not just the gold standard in radiographic positioning texts, and the most widely used, but also an excellent review in preparing for ARRT and certification exams! Comprehensive, full-color coverage of anatomy and positioning makes Merrill's Atlas the most in-depth text and reference available for radiography students and practitioners. Frequently performed essential projections identified with a special icon to help you focus on what you need to know as an entry-level radiographer. Summary of Pathology table now includes common male reproductive system pathologies. Coverage of common and unique positioning procedures includes special chapters on trauma, surgical radiography, geriatrics/pediatrics, and bone densitometry, to help prepare you for the full scope of situations you will encounter. Collimation sizes and other key information are provided for each relevant projection. Numerous CT and MRI images enhance comprehension of cross-sectional anatomy and help in preparing for the Registry examination. UPDATED! Positioning photos show current digital imaging equipment and technology. Summary tables provide quick access to projection overviews, guides to anatomy, pathology tables for bone groups and body systems, and exposure technique charts Bulleted lists provide clear instructions on how to correctly position the patient and body part when performing procedures. NEW! Updated content in text reflects continuing evolution of digital image technology NEW! Updated positioning photos illustrate the current digital imaging equipment and technology (lower limb, scoliosis, pain management, swallowing dysfunction). NEW! Added digital radiographs provide greater contrast resolution for improved visualization of pertinent anatomy. NEW! Revised positioning techniques reflect the latest ASRT standards.
Radiography PREP by
ACE THE ARRT CERTIFICATION EXAM WITH THE LEADING NAME IN RADIOGRAPHY 4-STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "This is a must-have book for any future radiographer." -- Doody's Review Service The entire radiography curriculum summarized in a concise, accessible narrative helps you understand andremember key concepts 850+ chapter review questions, including a 200-question practice test, prepare you for the exam Answers include detailed explanations to reinforce learning More than 400 illustrations and clinical images Written by an experienced educator and radiography program director who knows what it takes to pass Essential for certification or recertification Completely updated based on the 2015 ARRT Registry Blueprint Includes coverage of computed & digital imaging and CT fundamentals NEW FEATURE: Online faculty resources include learning activities for use in classroom teaching
Radiation Protection in Medical Radiography by
Gain a full understanding of both basic and complex concepts in radiation protection, biology, and physics. Beautifully designed and easy to follow, Radiation Protection in Medical Radiography, 8th Edition promotes the safe use of ionizing radiation in all imaging modalities, including the effects of radiation on humans at the cellular and systemic levels, regulatory and advisory limits for human exposure to radiation, and the implementation of radiation safety practices for patients and personnel. This market-leading text reflects the latest ARRT and ASRT curriculum guidelines to help you succeed on the ARRT exam. Plus, the new edition includes tables with sensitivity ranges to provide easy reference for each type of dosimeter. Convenient, easy-to-use features include chapter outlines and objectives, listing and highlighting of key terms, and bulleted summaries, general discussion questions, and review questions to enhance student comprehension and retention. NCRP and ICRP content includes guidelines, regulations, and radiation quantities and units, explaining the effects of low-level ionizing radiation, demonstrating the link between radiation and cancer and other diseases, and providing the regulatory perspective needed for practice. Clear and concise writing style covers complex concepts in radiation protection, biology, and physics in a building-block approach from basic to more complex concepts. Timely coverage of radiation protection regulations addresses radiation awareness and education efforts across the globe. NEW! Chapter Radiation Safety in Computed Tomography and Mammography compiles content on tomography and mammography into one chapter. UPDATED! Full-color equipment images and illustrations reinforce important information. UPDATED! Content reflects the latest ARRT and ASRT curriculum guidelines. Review questions are included at the end of chapters to assess your comprehension, with answers on the Evolve companion website. NEW! Key-word glossary helps you find and understand need-to-know terms. NEW! Additional tables with sensitivity ranges makes each type of dosimeters easy to reference
Emergency Radiology by
Emergency Radiology presents a comprehensive review of emergency pathologies commonly encountered by practicing radiologists and residents in training. The first five sections are organized by organ system and include Head, Neck, Face, and Spine, Chest, Abdominal, Pelvic, and Bone emergencies, followed by chapters on Pediatric and Nuclear Medicine emergencies and special topics in emergency imaging. Part of the Rotations in Radiology series, this book offers a guided approach to imaging diagnosis with examples of all imaging modalities complimented by the basics of interpretation and technique and the nuances necessary to arrive at the best diagnosis. Each pathology is covered with a targeted discussion that reviews the definition, clinical features, anatomy and physiology, imaging techniques, differential diagnosis, clinical issues, key points, and further reading. This organization is ideal for trainees' use during specific rotations and for exam review, or as a quick refresher for the established emergency imager.
Lange Q and A Radiography Examination by
Ace the ARRT Certification Exam with the leading name in radiography instruction LANGE Q&A Radiography Examination contains more than 1,400 registry-style questions to get you ready for the licensing exam. Written by a respected radiologist with 35 years of teaching experience, the book reinforces concepts by including explanations for correct and incorrect answer options for each question. From cover to cover, this tried-and-true exam prep tool is filled with everything you need to have an edge on exam day. Now in its tenth edition, LANGE Q&A Radiography Examinationis more indispensable than ever, reflecting content updates from the latest ARRT radiographic examination blueprint. In addition, the book features important coverage of computed tomography (CT) technology within the chapters on radiation protection, equipment, procedures, and CT imaging. Also included with purchase is access to two online practice exams with 400 questions and answers. Packed with over 1,400 Q&As and access to two online practice exams that deliver unmatched preparation for the radiography certification/recertification exam Sections include Patient Care and Education, Imaging Procedures, Radiation Protection, Image Acquisition and Evaluation, and Equipment Operation and Quality Control Covers the latest technologies including digital imaging and computed tomography
Radiologic Science for Technologists by
Develop the skills you need to safely and effectively produce high-quality medical images with Radiologic Science for Technologists: Physics, Biology, and Protection, 11th Edition. Reorganized and updated with the latest advances in the field, this new edition aligns with the ASRT curriculum to strengthen your understanding of key concepts, and prepare you for success on the ARRT certification exam and in clinical practice. Firmly established as a core resource for medical imaging technology courses, this text gives you a strong foundation in the study and practice of radiologic physics, imaging and exposure, radiobiology, radiation protection, and more. Expanded coverage of radiologic science topics, including radiologic physics, imaging, radiobiology, radiation protection, and more, allows this text to be used over several semesters. Chapter introductions, summaries, outlines, objectives, and key terms help you to organize and pinpoint the most important information. Formulas, conversion tables, and abbreviations are highlighted for easy access to frequently used information. "Penguin" boxes recap the most vital chapter information. End-of-chapter questions include definition exercises, matching, short answer, and calculations to help you review material. Key terms and expanded glossary enable you to easily reference and study content. Highlighted math formulas call attention to key mathematical information for special focus. NEW! Chapters on Radiography/Fluoroscopy Patient Radiation Dose and Computed Tomography Patient Radiation Dose equip you to use the most current patient dosing technology. NEW! Streamlined physics and math sections ensure you're prepared to take the ARRT exam and succeed in the clinical setting.